The 2023 NBA Playoff picture Just Got a Little More Clear

The 76ers and Grizzlies have both earned spots in this year’s playoffs. Does either team have a real shot? Or are they just there to fill out the bracket?

Humzah Shaikh
PRESS BOX
4 min readMar 24, 2023

--

As the most wide-open nba season in years continues to whittle down the the remaining games before the post season begins, two new challengers have punched their ticket to the playoffs and are one step closer to championship gold. One from the east, and one from the west. Both seem to have sky-high potential, while simultaneously having glaring Achilles’ heels. So lets take a look at the two teams, and see if we have a pair of contenders, or pretenders, on our hands.

The Philadelphia 76ers

A picture of two African American basketball players embracing: Joel Embiid and James Harden, the star duo of the Philadelphia 76ers NBA team
Image Credit

It feels like we’ve been asking the same question about this team since the 2019 NBA season: is THIS the year that Philadelphia FINALLY makes it to the promised land and hoists the Larry O’Brien trophy? Every year the 76ers make a solid run, amass a great record, and seem like they have all the pieces they need, only to never end up putting them all together in the end. While I am a Raptors fan at heart and as such find myself frequently rooting against the 76ers, I do feel for them. Especially in recent years when Joel Embiid has been a perennial MVP candidate. Like Embiid’s MVP aspirations, the 76ers seem stuck in the ‘always the bridesmaid, never the bride’ position where they always end up with the short end of the stick. Even after acquiring James Harden and with the emergence of young studs like Tyrese Maxey, Philadelphia hasn’t even made it to the conference finals. And that sucks. While I agree with the notion that championships aren’t everything, even I’m getting tired of ‘trusting the process.’

And yet again, it gives me no pleasure to say that I don’t expect this team to win it all. Hell I don’t even expect them to make it to the Eastern Conference Finals. Embiid can be every inch the MVP he has been the last few seasons, but it’s become increasingly evident he can’t do it alone. His co-star James Harden has continued to disappoint in the playoffs and that doesn’t seem like it’s going to change. And even in the best case scenario where both Embiid and Harden play their tails off while being aided by excellent depth, I don’t see them beating either Boston nor Milwaukee. Even against the Cleveland Cavaliers who are one spot under them currently has a better shot at winning it all in my view.

Ultimately I think that the City of Brotherly Love will find its heart broken once more this post-season. I hate to say it, but as far as I’m concerned, the 76ers are just pretenders to me.

Which brings me to the team in the other neck of the woods….

The Memphis Grizzlies

Star player for the Memphis Grizzlies Ja Morant roaring for the crowd while wearing a navy blue jersey and shorts with a yellow arm sleeve on his left arm
Image Credit

It’s a turbulent time for the Grizzlies, and the eye of the storm is squarely around its superstar guard Ja Morant.

As I’ve said in past articles I’ve written, I love the NBA for its competition and the stories that accompany the game. I love rivalries, comebacks, epic blowouts, ‘one in a million’ wins, etc. I am NOT interested in off-court drama. Nor am I interested in attempting to psychoanalyze people who I have never met in my life. I’ll leave that armchair commentary to the pundits on ESPN and other networks. As far as I’m concerned I’ll keep my coverage to the court.

The Memphis Grizzlies have announced themselves in recent years as a formidable foe in the Western Conference. While Ja’s comments about ‘being fine in the West’ earned much ridicule as this season saw a host of moves that made the conference the wildlands for all teams involved, the Grizzlies have continued to be among the best. As of writing they are the second best team in the West. They are a top 10 team both in terms of points per game scored, as well as opposing points per game scored (link to stats). To put it simply, they’re solid on both offense and defense. Even without superstar Ja Morant. While Morant is still serving a suspension, it does look like he will be able to participate in the playoffs. Which leads me to say that the Memphis Grizzlies are definitely among the serious contenders this year to win it all.

That being said, they still are a dark horse candidate in my eyes. I still have the Nuggets as one of my favourites. A series between Memphis and the Sacremento Kings would be an excellent showcase of hard-nosed, smash mouth basketball. And while they are lower down the standings currently, you can never truly rule out the Golden State Warriors. But facts are facts, and the fact is the Grizzlies have been one of the best teams in the entire league this year. Their stars have been more consistent than those in Philadelphia, and with Morant expected to return very soon, I would be weary if I was on the opposing team coming into their neck of the woods for a road game. This Grizzly bear may not be on cocaine, but it’s still just as lethal, frenetic, and downright unpredictable. What other teams do you think will secure a spot in this year’s NBA playoffs? Let me know in the comments. Regardless though, one thing is sure.

The world is watching.

--

--

Humzah Shaikh
PRESS BOX

Professional Unpaid Writer. Specializes in storytelling. Loves basketball, humour, writing advice and original stories. 1 time top NBA writer