The Beauty of Football

How one player encapsulates the meaning of O Jogo Bonito

Ning Choi
The Press Box
5 min readMay 11, 2022

--

Photo by Abigail Keenan on Unsplash

Dear My Child,

Happy 10th birthday! Double digits!

Now, you’re probably wondering why you’re reading this. Why on earth did I give this to you? Well, for that answer, you’re gonna have to read… sorry about that! I know you hate reading these long words, but I ask you to stay until the end. It’s worth it. I promise!

How my love of football started

December 2002 was a special time in my life. Well, it was the first sense of time in my life. December 2002 was when I came into this world of ours. Would you believe that six months prior, the biggest sporting tournament in the world occurred? The World Cup.

Yes, I was born in the same year as the quadrennial tournament that crowned the champions of the biggest sport in the world it’s factually true so it comes as absolutely no surprise that I grew up into an absolutely obsessive football fanatic. Now, I’m not talking about being a one-team loyalist or one of those so-called plastic supporters who apparently have an avid love for Manchester City that only was kindled after the 2010s due to the financial backing and cash injection.

While I respect the undying support of one type of fan and absolutely detest the sly nature of the other, now more than ever, I consider myself a hybrid of them both. I would describe myself as a fan of Jogo Bonito with a slight leaning towards Manchester United and Real Madrid — both European powerhouses in the sport. More than one team? controversial, I know.

But, here’s my defence: Where I grew up, the sport we both love isn’t as widely admired. In fact, it often plays second fiddle to many others. So, I looked, naturally, elsewhere to get my sporting fix. I looked to the best leagues in the world, and of course, it had to be in Europe. Now I’ve seen you in front of the TV cheering, oohing, aahing along with me. With that same passion that I had when I first discovered this beautiful sport of ours.

You understand the complexity in the simplicity of the game. You understand the patience required for many teams to reap a reward that (sometimes) places them in the pages of history books. You’ve heard of the phrase O Jogo Bonito before. And if I know you, you’re probably wondering what the heck does this have to do with anything?

Who is Cristiano Ronaldo?

Well, I trust that I’ve explained the concepts of our Beautiful Game to you. What I haven’t done is explain to you why I fell in love with this game. I’ll tell you now it’s because of one legend of the game. His name? Cristiano Ronaldo. CR7. Who is he?

While he is known now as the guy that invented the SIIIIIIIIUUUUU! celebration, he was more than that. His impact was greater. He was a record-breaker. A wonder. He is the one who really got me into football, at the same age as you are now actually. This is why I wanted to give you this letter.

Back in the days of My Chemical Romance and the first iteration of Spider-Man, there was a starboy in the making. A scruffy-haired teenager from Sporting traded Portugal for England and Manchester United. With tremendous touch and tease, the trembling teenager put the world of Jogo Bonito on notice, with №7 on his back, he was the chosen one. The next Beckham, the next Cantona, he was not. He was the first Cristiano Ronaldo.

While today, the tactical outset of every team is dependent on systems and positional discipline, the creative freedom allowed the individual brilliance of the special few to be on full display. The type of freedom only allowed in the game of football. With the ball at his feet, an endless bag of tricks and time to breathe was what elevated him to the next level.

A world-beater

Then he moved to Spain. To the greatest club in world football — to Real Madrid. Here, he found his groove, catapulted to superstardom. From the fringes to the focal point, Ronaldo was now well under the microscope of admirers and critics alike. It is here that I truly understood his greatness. Slotting into the striker spot, Ronaldo became separated from the rest of the field in terms of work ethic and talent. Across a decade, Ronaldo became a household name. A leader. He breaks all the unbeatable records here. First to hold 5 Ballon D’ors to his name. First to win 5 Champions League titles. The now all-time top goalscorer for Los Blancos. He was now a legend.

A short stint at Juventus gave him 100 more goals and another title in another league. Then the return. Now in his immaculate maturity, he is re-United after leaving the Italian side on a free transfer. Now — at 37-years-old — he proved once more that age is just a number. The old adage of “form is temporary, class is permanent” really shone through here. Time and time again, the clutch gene was on full display, with extremely important game-changing goals.

How Cristiano Ronaldo embodies The Beautiful Game

It is this longevity combined with his immense ability with and without the ball that gave me this love and admiration for Ronaldo. It is the intangible aspects too. The constant hunger to win. The ability to motivate his team, captain or not. The no excuses. The doings off the pitch, the kind soul. His generosity. These are some of the factors as to why he is one of the people I look up to.

So now that you know who my favourite player is in this beautiful game of ours, I want to know who yours is.

Is it Kylian Mbappe? Or Erling Haaland? Are they still the best, as touted by us old heads? Has Pedri been as brilliant as his promise entailed?

These are all questions I want you to answer. Finally, will you please keep me a promise? Please hold onto this passion for O Jogo Bonito.

--

--

Ning Choi
The Press Box

Aussie. University Undergrad. Addicted to Football. Here to deliver quality commentary on The Beautiful Game. Constantly learning, always opinionated.