The Sturg’s Way Too Close to Gameday Super Bowl Predictions

A look ahead at tomorrow’s big game and the ultimate prediction

The Sturg (Gerald Sturgill)
The Press Box
3 min readFeb 11, 2023

--

By U.S. Air National Guard Master Sgt. Michael Crane — 180814-Z-UP142–064, Public Domain, https://commons.wikimedia.org/w/index.php?curid=72954113

All right, so looking back to a couple of weeks ago at my Championship Round predictions, I feel like I struck out on both picks even though I got one of them right. I predicted a close game in both and that the Eagles and Bengals would be here right now.

The Bengals definitely got the raw end of the refereeing in the Chiefs game but I should’ve seen the Chiefs coming from a mile away. The matchup, after all, pits two brothers against each other in the Super Bowl for the first time, and it also has the Kelce Brothers participating in the big game. Okay, puns and joking aside, this is definitely a historic Super Bowl with two Black quarterbacks starting for the teams for the first time.

I think that I see the storyline that the NFL is going for here. They want to see their future GOAT heir apparent win championships so I’m sure that they will make sure at all costs that Patrick Mahomes wins another ring. I’m not saying that they will cheat or script to make it happen but my bet for this game is for the Kansas City Chiefs to win in a close game and battle against the equally, if not more talented, Philadelphia Eagles.

I think that the final will be a one-score margin and that Patrick Mahomes after winning the NFL MVP again this year will also win another Super Bowl MVP. Since Patrick Mahomes injured his leg and hobbled his way to a gritty win over Cincinnati, I could see that with a break and with his drive to win that he’ll be ready to go and ready to slice up the Philadelphia defense.

Philadelphia will rely heavily on their running game as they always do and will probably control the time of possession in this game. Mahomes has shown that he doesn’t really need much time and that his game is definitely catered to something akin to a two or four-minute offense. The defense for Kansas City will do just enough to keep them in the game.

I predict that Travis Kelce, the younger of the two Kelce brothers will have a big game. His older brother, Jason, will also have a solid game on the offensive line for Philadelphia. Kansas City does have Chris Jones, who had 2 sacks and 4 tackles in the game against Cincinnati but I think that Philadelphia has a better line and will neutralize that pass-rushing threat for the most part.

I’ll go ahead and predict that the final score of this Super Bowl will be 27–23. Let’s see how close I get and you can all comment down here on how you think the Big Game will turn out.

Also, who else do you think will have a big game? And what kind of festivities do you plan on having tomorrow?

--

--

The Sturg (Gerald Sturgill)
The Press Box

Gay, disabled in an RV, Cali-NY-PA, Boost Nominator. New Writers Welcome, The Taoist Online, Badform. Owner of International Indie Collective pubs.