SPORTS|CULTURE|PSYCHOLOGY

Watching Sports Isn’t My Jam, But I Get Sucked In — This Is Why

Beginning to understand what all the fuss is about even though sports competition still stresses me out

KL Simmons
The Press Box
Published in
6 min readApr 23, 2022

--

Photo by Joshua Peacock on Unsplash

How It All Began…

When I was a kid, my mom used to take me to many of the “fan appreciation day” games for the Philadelphia Phillies baseball team.

They gave away gifts at the door, oftentimes for kids 12 and under, which is why she wanted to take me on those days.

I found baseball to be pretty boring. God forbid, the game went into extra innings. My mom always stayed until the very end, except late at night.

Eating French fries, ice cream, and doing the wave was my favorite part. My embarrassment came when she yelled at the players was my least favorite part.

The rules of the game were easy enough to learn. It just didn’t hold my attention for long.

Later on…

Around 12 years old, I became a cheerleader for my school’s basketball team. Basketball was much more exciting than baseball to me and I enjoyed cheering for the team.

--

--

KL Simmons
The Press Box

Seeking improvement as a writer and human. Email: KLSimmons.medium@gmail.com. Owner of the publications: Taking Off, Pure Fiction and Interracial Relations.