When I was in the Super Bowl, the World Series, and the Olympics

The older I get, the better I was

John Egelkrout
The Press Box

--

Photo by Fitsum Admasu on Unsplash

I grew up in a neighborhood where there were a number of older children, and I was often the youngest of the group. A big part of my growing up was playing sports with the kids in our neighborhood, as well as with kids from other neighborhoods. It’s what we did all day long every day in the summer.

I spent countless hours playing baseball in the summer program and, later, Little League.

I played football nearly every day in the fall and often in the winter.

Year after year I probably logged several thousand hours playing various sports, and yet, for all the hours I spent playing sports in my youth, I can only remember a handful of plays, just a few special moments worth remembering.

Photo by John Torcasio on Unsplash

The Super Bowl touchdown

When I was in junior high school in 1970–1972, we had two intramural football teams that played against each other. One team wore blue jerseys and the other wore black.

--

--

John Egelkrout
The Press Box

I am a sanity-curious former teacher who writes about politics, social issues, memoirs, and a variety of other topics.