Wilt Chamberlain, the Greatest Athlete Of All Time

Just face it: God was out drinking good whiskey when he gave us, “the Dipper”

'bumpyjonas…
The Press Box

--

Wilt Chamberlain — Public Domain Photo

I am obsessed with Wilt Chamberlain. To me, he is the greatest athlete in the history of human beings. I thought of him as soon as I read the great essay by Ishan Royyuru on this topic.

I was inspired to also do as Ishan Royyuru had done.

Here’s that great essay:

As a kid, I saw Wilt play on television a few times. I saw him near the end of his career. He was still a force.

I tracked the Lakers hard when they won 33 straight games in 1972. In fact, it is one of my fresh memories of professional basketball. During that run, “The Dipper,” as Wilt was known had 17 games with 20 or more rebounds, and 18 double-doubles.

If Wilt had been on better teams in the 1960s, I doubt the Celtics would have won all those titles, I kept thinking.

Wilt was not a tall stiff who used just his height to dominate his opponents either. He…

--

--

'bumpyjonas…
The Press Box

word scratcher, baller...shot caller, born in a city made of chocolate.