Bruno Ribeiro- Six months on as Port Vale manager

Nathan Stirk
The Gaffers
Published in
3 min readNov 28, 2016

This summer Port Vale appointed former Leeds and Sheffield United midfielder Bruno Ribeiro as their new manager, on a three-year contract. The Portuguese coach previously managed at his hometown club Vitoria Setubal and at the Bulgarian giants Ludogorets.

Six months on and the Port Vale manager is starting to get use to life in England. Bruno said: “I am very happy here at Port Vale, it is a great club and the English game is fantastic for me. There is a lot more work in England but I like that. In Portugal you are a coach, you have the director, president, whereas in England you have to see everything.

My ambition is to lead Port Vale to promotion. It will not be easy as there are some very good teams who have lots of money in this division. We have a small budget compared to other clubs, however sometimes more money can make a huge difference.

Promotion this year is possible but we changed eighteen players this season and it is not easy as everyone is new. This year promotion is possible, but it will be very difficult. We will try very hard but in 3 years time I think Port Vale will be in the Championship. This is a Championship club; we just need to change a few things. It is a big club and a good club for the Championship and maybe in 5 to 6 years time we will be playing in the Premier League.

My personal ambition is to go to the top, where all managers want to be. I work very hard everyday with my players for this. I am the first one to arrive and last one to leave. I open the door and close the door. I want one day to manage in the Premier league in England. I want to stay in England for a long time because this is my football, it is what I like and this job for me is fantastic.

Last month was not very good as we played against the best teams in the division and we had four or five important players injured. It is difficult when results are not going well, but we have good staff here to help each other out. To deal with pressure you have to keep going, I know my work and I won’t change it. Chairmen’s like results, but you need time, at least a year. I know the supporters would like us to win every game but that is normal when you like the club, are position is different, you cannot win all games. At the moment we just need a good result so we start to climb back up the league.

If the players do not have the correct attitude, I will go crazy but if the other team is better we can do nothing about that. When the game is finished, I come to my office and talk things over with my staff. The next day we watch video analyses of the game, sort out are faults and start preparing for the next game.

I just ask for a good attitude from my players, we have a good family here.

--

--

Nathan Stirk
The Gaffers

Currently studying Photojournalism at Staffordshire University, Sports Photographer. Blog about Football Gaffers. Email- n.stirk@hotmail.com