Editor’s Letter

Nathan Stirk
The Gaffers
Published in
1 min readNov 21, 2016

Football has always been a strong passion and has played a profound role in my life. Over the years I have put aside my playing days so I can focus on my sports photography career. I photograph professional football matches weekly and have started to realize there is a demand for my football manager photographs. This was due to the new appointment of club managers or their recent sacking due to poor results.

I started to ask myself where is the stability within these football clubs? When results aren’t going well is it acceptable to point the blame on the manager?

The Gaffers is a documentary project exploring the duties and responsibilities of club managers before and during match days. I will also report on recent news features that I have photographed throughout the 2016–2017 football season.

--

--

Nathan Stirk
The Gaffers

Currently studying Photojournalism at Staffordshire University, Sports Photographer. Blog about Football Gaffers. Email- n.stirk@hotmail.com