Former England Manager,
Steve McClaren is named Derby County
manager, just after 17 Months of being sacked from the club.

Nathan Stirk
The Gaffers
Published in
3 min readNov 3, 2016

--

Former England Manager, Steve McClaren is named Derby County manager, just after 17 Months of being sacked from the club.

McClaren takes over from Nigel Pearson, who left the club by mutual consent after only five months in charge. The Rams have won one game in the last nine under Pearson and are three points from the relegation spot.

Nigel Pearson leaves Derby County by mutual consent after five months in charge.

The 53 year old was suspended last month after having a bust up with the Derby County owner, Mel Morris. Rumours suggest that Pearson was left in despair with Morris as he used a drone to keep tabs of his training sessions.

Nigel Pearson gives orders on the touchline during the Sky Bet Championship match between Derby County and Blackburn Rovers at iPro Stadium on September 24, 2016 in Derby, England. (Photo by Nathan Stirk/Getty Images)

“I was suspended by the Club last week. The speculation in some areas of the media has not made the separation a smooth one, and my suspension period has been difficult for both myself and family.

I can confirm that I have not been made the subject of any disciplinary action.

Although disappointed that my tenure at Derby County has come to an abrupt and premature end, I would like to take the opportunity to thank my colleagues who supported me during my short time at the Club.

I would like to wish the Club and its supporters success moving forward”.

Steve McClaren shows his frustration by throwing a bottle on the floor during the game between Derby County and Brentford. (Photo by Nathan Stirk/ Getty Images)

The reappointment of Steve McClaren has raised a lot of eyebrows due to his unsuccessful track record. McClaren first spell in charge at Derby saw him being sacked after missing out on promotion for the second time in two seasons.

McClaren said, “I am excited to be back at Derby County as the club’s manager. I have a great affiliation with the club, having been here on three previous occasions, and I am really delighted at the prospect of finishing what we started back in September 2013. I regret how my time at Derby ended back in 2015 and I am very motivated to put things right for the club and our supporters.

My ultimate aspiration remains exactly what it was before, to take Derby County back to the Premier League. This football club has fantastic ambition, brilliant supporters and wonderful backing from the chairman Mel Morris.”

McClaren has a lot to prove this time round as his previous track record in management are jobs he will not want to remember. As England manager the team failed to qualify for the 2008 Euro’s and his previous spell at Newcastle United saw them regulated from the Barclays Premier League.

The response of the football pundits,

Will Derby County be successfully this time under McClaren?

Steve McClaren, manager of Derby County gives his team instructions during the Sky Bet Championship match between Derby County and Brentford. (Photo by Nathan Stirk/ Getty Images)

--

--

Nathan Stirk
The Gaffers

Currently studying Photojournalism at Staffordshire University, Sports Photographer. Blog about Football Gaffers. Email- n.stirk@hotmail.com