Bitcoin for Newborn Dummies

Why a stolen bicycle padlock taught me to be prudent

Nuno Fabiao
The Price of Tomorrow

--

Geeky 80s style will never not be cool.

The retro power still makes me goosebumps. I remember every little detail of my wardrobe in the 80s.

The intense smell of my first leather jacket, the texture of the bombazine pants, or the first All-Star Converse still cause me nostalgia.

I still remember the first bicycle my parents offered me. The seat was long, which made it possible to take someone else — a luxury at that time. The bench was all white with a blue longitudinal strip, which delighted all my neighborhood friends.

Everyone wanted to have a few seconds of privilege, to sit on that Harley Davidson without an engine. My father ordered that bicycle from Spain, which at the time was a rare event. The wheel bearings were the best brand in the world. There were bicycle parts that none of us had ever seen before.

An extra accessory also stood out in the middle of that shiny rolling piece. A padlock with eight numbers. A real Fort Knox, wrapped around the top of the seat gave a more sophisticated look to that piece of art.

For weeks I felt like the king of my neighborhood. Even those kids who didn’t like me so much wanted to be my friends too. All they wanted…

--

--

Nuno Fabiao
The Price of Tomorrow

I write about Finance, Macro Economy, Innovation, and Crypto. Editor for The Price of Tomorrow, writer for The Startup, and DataDrivenInvestor.