I’m Cupiosexual

Sotonye
The Pride Zine
Published in
2 min readJun 12, 2021

Hi! I just found out I’m a Cupiosexual Aroflux Polyamorous Lesbian 😁😁😁. I’m so excited!!! Can you tell?

Sometime during the first lockdown, I was reading The Gay BCs of LGBT by Ash Hardell and I realised I was somewhere on the Asexual spectrum. I went through the micro labels and none of them fit, so I stuck with Asexual even though it didn’t feel right.

Today, I was minding my business and scrolling through Tiktok when I stumbled upon a post by a person who is doing a sort of show and tell on LGBTQ+ identities and their flags and they mentioned Cupiosexual, an identity on the Ace spectrum.

“Ma’am, please calm down and tell us what it means already 🙄.” Okay okay, I will. Sheesh! Cupiosexual means that although a person does not experience sexual attraction, they desire sex with their partner(s) and derive pleasure from the activity.

Nothing has ever been more me!!!!!

When I’m not being sex-repulsed, I do desire sex with my partner and will eagerly participate in it because it makes me and them happy.

I’m so glad I found this label, it makes being an Asexual in a relationship much easier to understand. At a point, I thought maybe I was some kind of Demi or Grayace because I could get horny for my partner but neither label fit perfectly. I’m happy I finally figured it out.

Today I found community and I feel less alone and confused. I’m ecstatic.

--

--