To Debbie on our anniversary

The Pride Zine
The Pride Zine
Published in
2 min readJun 18, 2022

Hi, my shuga baby

I wanted to write you this because you wrote one for me on my birthday .it’s one of my absolute favorite thing to carry around in my purse now . It feels like I’m carrying your love around the world with me . And I wanted to do that for you , I wanted you to feel the way I felt.

You’ve taught me the proper way to love , you’ve taught me the proper way that I should be loved, and you’ve taught me the proper way to love you . When I say to you that I don’t know how I’d survive without you ,I really do mean it . Because this past year with you has been nothing short of wonderful. And to the people reading this I’m not just saying it because it’s love and I know it sounds cliche but if you know me ,you know I say what I mean and I mean what I say.

You said something the other day baby . There’s first love and then there’s true love . Ours is true love. A love I never felt before ,The truest and purest form of love I’ve ever known.

My own , the literal love of my life . Y’all this woman is the real deal I’m not even kidding

Still can’t believe it’s been a year . It feels like yesterday you just came into my life .

The best part of being with you is that I get to fall deeper in love with you everyday even when we’re quarreling and I’m being an ass as I usually do. Every time we makeup I love you more .

1 turns to 2 , 2 turns to 10 ,and 10 into 50 and so on . And yes I think we’ll last that long . I can already hear y’all reading this and saying “na so”They don’t understand baby that’s why we’re here though, to prove them wrong, they’ll “God when” forever .

Happy anniversary my love .

From your ashawo

Fatshionista

--

--

The Pride Zine
The Pride Zine

The Pride Zine is an online publication for and by queer Africans.