To the Beautiful Stanger in Front of the Bank

The Pride Zine
The Pride Zine
Published in
2 min readJun 23, 2022

When I think of the most random crazy thing that has ever happened to me, I remember how I came out of the banking hall and you approached me in an attempt to sell a personal care product to me. It was obviously fake. But your energy was contagious and I wished I could have bought one just to support you but I had no money, so you asked me for a kiss.

I wondered if it was a dream, maybe I hallucinated, maybe you were insane, maybe it was a trap. I wanted to do it, you were quite the sight. But my uncle was right there and we were in public, in Nigeria. For a brief moment I imagined a world where I didn’t have to hide my identity. A world where I could love freely.

My uncle called me in, and drove me home and made fun of you and I wanted so badly to defend you but the risk was plenty so I stayed quiet. But I always remember you, the flurry of feelings you invoked that day rests in me always. The thought of what I couldn’t give you stays with me forever.

And that gays, shes and theys is the story of how “kissing a girl in public” became the number one item on my bucket list.

And I promise you beautiful stranger, I’ll get it done, even if it’s the last thing I do.

--

--

The Pride Zine
The Pride Zine

The Pride Zine is an online publication for and by queer Africans.