REX CORGI’S FINAL SHAKE OF THE TAIL

What Is A Soul?

I’m not going to write this article.

Robert Gowty
The Pro Files
Published in
8 min readJul 28, 2024

--

Angry. By the author.

Dammit, it’s just going to have to write itself, and every morning it does.

On Friday, 24th March, 2023 I sat down and started to write this. Over a year ago.

Why does it keep jumping back into my head when so many other unpublished drafts from this time are long forgotten?

That’s right. My Inbox. High on Meth.

I manage my life with routine. Alarm clocks, set activities, timetables.

Every morning when the alarm goes off, I get up, get dressed, prepare a coffee, then take the dog for a walk.

It’s the same walk every day, designed to take the same amount of time, to allow my routine to connect with the public transport timetable.

Poor Rex is getting old so this scheme is not working as efficiently as it once did.

Today, as I crossed the footbridge, a police car and ambulance went racing east.

By the time I got to the road bridge that crossed back over the highway, the ambulance with lights flashing was heading west to the hospital. This is the place that every morning, the article writes itself.

--

--

Robert Gowty
The Pro Files

Idiot Saveloy. Tasmanian. Answering questions you never asked. Aficionado of the number seven.