About Me

Rebecca Downs-Goldberg
The Pro-Life Rose
Published in
2 min readFeb 21, 2019

I’ve been pro-life my whole life. While a freshman at Fordham University, I immediately joined the Respect for Life club on campus and attended my first March for Life in 2010. The more I learned about abortion, the more I became pro-life, not just for the sake of the life of the unborn child, but for the physical and psychological well-being of the mother.

On the evening of January 4th, 2016, I was shocked to learn that I was pregnant. I was single at the time and while we were together when we conceived our daughter, we were not when I found out I was pregnant, and were also living/working states away from each other. While the pregnancy was not the easiest experience I’ve ever had, emotionally speaking, it did truly provide me perspective for the pro-life movement, specifically what mothers facing unplanned pregnancies go through. While I had strong negative emotions at times, it was never against my daughter. I even found myself wishing I were someone who would consider having an abortion. It was the truth which set me free from even considering an abortion, however. Truth about the humanity and dignity that was the life of my daughter, as well as how abortion could harm me physically and certainly psychologically. Being pregnant and being a mom was hard, even when her father and I did get back together, have another daughter, and get married. Abortion would have been worse though. I went from wishing I would have an abortion to being even more passionately against abortion, again, for the sake of mothers.

For several years now I have been speaking out on the abortion issue, specifically so that I can educate others about it. I thank you for joining me here so that you can learn and hopefully walk away enlightened and learning something you might not have known before. I invite you to think about abortion in ways you may not have thought about it before.

If you are pro-life, I am happy to stand with you on this issue. It matters not to me what your views are on any other issue. If you are pro-choice and recognize that our country sorely needs regulation and restrictions on abortions, then I am happy to stand with you on that area of agreement as well.

--

--