4. Homelessness and you.

Amanda Patterson
The Problem With Homelessness
3 min readMay 5, 2020

During my time volunteering with MARDI GRAS at PHC, I had the pleasure to work with Olivia Ward. Olivia is a rising senior in the college of nursing, and has incredible passion for serving her community. When reflecting on this time, I knew that Olivia would be the best person to ask about what volunteering with PHC meant to her. She had the following to say about her experience,

During my time as a volunteer, I was able to connect with a few of my visitors and talk about what was going on in their lives. Many of the people that I spoke to were facing housing insecurity monthly and were just trying to stay afloat. Talking to these people made me realize how quickly certain life events can completely throw an individual’s life off of its regular course. Before taking part in PHC, I really thought I knew the City of Milwaukee well. I thought I had a good grasp on homelessness and the issues that people faced. I was so far from a real understanding and I didn’t even realize it until this experience. One of the biggest things I lacked to even think about was the social isolation that people experiencing homelessness face. Many people told me the thing that they miss most is being treated with dignity and respect. Many stated that all they wish for is for someone to smile at them or stop and have a conversation with them. It made me realize that the way society treats our homeless population is so far from where it should be. No one ever plans to find themselves in a position where they don’t know where they’ll sleep tonight. Why should those that are fortunate enough to be sound in that decision judge? When we begin to challenge ourselves to move out of our comfort zone and really acknowledge the societal implications of homelessness, we will finally get somewhere.

What Olivia noted here could not be more true. Prior to this experience, I was also guilty of thinking I knew this city inside and out, just because I was born and raised here. As Marquette students, we are trapped in the Marquette Bubble; thinking we really know this city when really, all we know are the good parts, the pretty parts. Those parts of the city are only a fraction of what Milwaukee really is.

How many times have you blatantly ignored someone on the street because of how they looked? Maybe they looked a little rough around the edges or seeing them made you feel uncomfortable. You pay no mind to them, then continue on your way. Sure, this does not directly impact you in any way, but imagine if the scenario was flipped. What if every person you saw walking down the street ignored you, made faces at you or walked a little quicker when they saw you coming. How demeaning. This is what the day-to-day looks like for many people experiencing homelessness. Sure, it’s not always very comfortable having someone you don’t know ask you for money, but for some people, that may be one of their only options.

People experiencing homelessness are not people to be afraid of. They are people, just like you and me.

--

--