Writers of The Process

Get to know our contributors

Lucius Patenaude
The Process

--

Lucius Patenaude

Work:

I am a film director and writer currently living in Nashville, Tennessee. I freelance with local productions to support myself. I still have much to learn.

Passion:

Novels, film, animation, video games. I consume stories in any way, shape or form. I seek out stories to teach me more about the world I live in and challenge my beliefs. I especially love stories that explore the relationship between God and man. Most of my personal writing is high-concept fiction with abstract themes though I very much enjoy shooting documentaries about everyday people.

Tidbits:

My extended family is made up of scandinavians from Minnesota and pioneers that helped build Texas, so I’m basically a viking cowboy. Though born in Texas, I was grown in Northern Thailand and homeschooled through high school. My skills include cooking Thai food and firing Civil War-era cannons.

Most recommended movies: Sound of My Voice, Children of Men, Noah.

To see some of my work visit: luciuspatenaude.com.

Adrian Patenaude

Work:

I’m a writer trained in advertising and public relations, but I have also dabbled in poetry, short stories, blogging and screenwriting. I currently reside in the beautiful city of Austin, where I’m working at a PR firm downtown and getting connected with the local film industry.

Passion:

I believe in the power of stories, whether they be in the form of books, music, poetry, graphic novels or film. My own stories tend to explore themes of faith and culture, two of the most significant aspects of my life. I want everything I write to be courageous, communicating unexpected truths about God, the world and myself. I’m also fascinated with the way social media is shaping our psychology and passionate about writing great characters in order to eradicate stereotypes.

Tidbits:

I’m a movie buff, global nomad, published poet, scrapbooker, sweet tooth and cat enthusiast. I can speak Thai, code in CSS & HTML, bake sourdough bread and write a killer thank you note. I’ve always wanted to go to Japan, but never have, and never wanted to go to India, but did a few summers ago. My happy place is somewhere between a beach and a bookstore. INFJ. Oh, and I’m proud to be Lucius Patenaude’s little sister.

Lauren Quigley

Work:

I graduated from Abilene Christian University with a Bachelor of Science in Nutrition, and minored in both Communication and Digital Entertainment Technology. I’m currently job hunting and doing freelance work in San Antonio, Texas.

Passion:

Writing, film, any and all media. Being captivated with a truly great story is one of my favorite feelings in the world, and I want to give that feeling to others through words and a camera. I believe in authenticity, asking questions that might not have answers, and shining light on the everyday experiences that make up life.

Tidbits:

I grew up in a family of six, was homeschooled through high school, and my first solid experience in creative writing was through Lord of the Rings and Pirates of the Caribbean fan fiction. I studied nutrition because I’ve always wanted to help people live long lives, I love food, and the human body is amazing. Sometimes I talk like Batman to make my husband laugh.

Joseph Quigley

Work:

I am a software developer for USAA specializing in mobile apps with many computer-related side projects outside of the 9-to-5.

Passion:

Good stories, whether in books, video games, movies, photographs, or a stranger sitting next to me on an airplane. I also enjoy creating things with technology that make people’s lives easier or more enjoyable. I am happiest when I can merge stories and technology together.

Tidbits:

I come from a family of engineering, mechanical, and entreprenuerially-minded people. I love to cook for others and I yell a lot when playing intense video games. I am currently working on making a video game with some of my best friends and my wife.

Emmy Sparks

Work:

I recently graduated with a biology degree and an ambiguous vision for the future. Currently, I work as an Administrative Assistant for a church, crossing off the last thing I ever wanted to try: being a secretary. I should probably make more life goals. I TA Anatomy and Physiology lab courses on the side, which means I literally have skeletons in my closet.

Passion:

Ice Cream.

Pizza.

I believe that there should not be so much animosity among religious people toward science, or vice versa. By nature, neither party can prove or disprove the other. In fact, what I have discovered so far is that science reveals that there is room for God, which I find exhilarating. There are so many things I want to say about this topic. I hope to do so soon. Also, I highly value child sponsorship, and sponsor two children through World Vision and Compassion International.

Tidbits:

Once upon a time I told my Nana that when I grew up I would be a writer in New York City. We’ll see.

I find joy in thinking about thoughts and cooking a lot of food for one person and another person (a note: I love him).

I have a goofy dog named Charlie because I needed something to save and he has a terrible case of sad puppy eyes. His Instagram is @charliestatus, because what stranger wouldn’t want to see pictures of my dog.

I slay dragons.

Caroline Nikolaus

Work:

While I spent more time learning, studying, and playing music in college, my degree is actually in psychology (music minor). Saving the possible pursuit of graduate school for later years, I have moved to Nashville, TN as a solo artist and writer. Currently “starving” away as a waitress.

Passion:

People and that thing called Music. If I have any certainties in this life, they are to help and love people in any way I can, from newborns to the oldies. I happen to think music brings change and touches the soul in phenomenal ways, besides the fact that it is a universal language (ah!). I have a passion for serving, culture, for a world outside of my own, and for understanding each person as they are and how they became that way.

Tidbits:

I grew up in America, Japan, and Germany. Traveled extensively and don’t want to stop. Ever. Part of my heart’s been planted in Africa.

My family is extremely close, something of a rarity these days. Oh, I’m the youngest.

Photography and videography on the side.

Huge lover of art museums, forests, walking barefoot, English tea/tea time, ultimate frisbee.

I could say more.

Those days when I can sit at the piano and play, lose all sense of time and enter into my made up reality, created and shifted with every new note I play.

Brandy Rains

Work:

I have an Art Education degree but I don’t really know what that means. I am also currently pursuing a masters in Education, but I don’t know what that is, either. And because of that, I’ll be working for a non-profit in Nashville when I finish grad school.

Passion:

Being outdoors. I currently live in the mountains, so I suppose I have some sort of steel-like lung.

Writing poetry, rock climbing, reading, hiking, and drinking pretentious yet environmentally conscious fair-trade coffee.

Attempting to be humorous and most of the time failing miserably.

Tidbits:

I can’t tie a cherry stem with my tongue, but I CAN eat at least 32 grilled shrimp in one sitting, and I feel like that’s just as impressive.

I performed my first slam poem less than a year ago, and it made me a better person.

I imagine sometimes what it would be like to have enough abs to matter.

I’ve worked in social justice/non-profit longer than I’ve been attending college.

I am the first person in my family to graduate college.

I’m one of “those” people who tries to take Instagram seriously as a photographer.

Julia Curtis

Work:

Currently working on my English degree at Abilene Christian University. No, my plan is not to be a teacher, though who am I to decide my future.

Passion:

People, their stories, and what they do with them. This can be through books, movies, video games, and yes even television. I devour any form of a good story. I like making stories of my own, and being in other people’s stories through theater. I daydream about camping in the mountains and going to Hogwarts. God has blessed me with opportunities to travel, and travel I must.

Tidbits:

My homes have included the areas of California, Honduras, Japan, New Jersey, Arkansas, Ecuador, and Texas.

Food is everything. Seriously it keeps you alive.

I love people watching.

I have the greatest friends in the world.

Krista Cukrowski

Work:

I’m a Senior Digital Entertainment Technology student with minors in Graphic Design and Art, graduating in just a few months. I work as a Media Assistant, teaching software tutorials and helping students hurdle over blockades in their creative urges.

Passion:

Art, good food, and even better company. I’m of the opinion that there’s not much that can’t be bettered with a solid community of both peers and mentors (and a home cooked meal). Grad school will be coming for me within the next few years for Art History and Museum Studies.

Tidbits:

I am a professional whistler. There is nothing else that I claim such proficiency in.

National parks and museums are my second home.

Ray C. Loyd

Work:

I used to be a cashier, sneaker reseller, and financial aid dependent. Now, I take photos and shoot video on a freelance basis, while selling my soul writing words for ads or tech companies. Also an aspiring film director, lebenskünstler and sane person. Crosses fingers.

Passion:

On most nights, I’m either nerding out on movies, basketball, food, or camera gear. Fairly certain that I must be passionate about having life crises, too, if I keep putting myself through so many. So let’s include these: thinking about old flames, feeling older than I am, and suppressing my only-child syndrome. I like small, sentimental stories that feel big.

Tidbits:

I had a name change in 7th grade. 8th grade was weird. Then I moved.

Please, please, please watch any Paul Thomas Anderson or Richard Linklater movie and tell me you loved it.

Jeramy Garner

Work:

I am a technology coordinator and network administrator for a private school. I also freelance as a photographer, DJ, and all around tech person.

Passion:

Food

Having spent several years of my childhood on food stamps I grew to appreciate the importance of even a single hot meal. As I got older, I grew to appreciate how food was made. Now in my 20's I know my way around a kitchen fairly well, and am learning how important it is to share that knowledge with people.

Tidbits:

I have a degree in psychology.

I worked for a year as a substitute teacher where I taught Pre-K.

I also blues dance and swing dance.

--

--

Lucius Patenaude
The Process

Filmmaker & writer. Born in Texas, grown in Thailand, currently in Nashville.