Brain Scan Word Scramble

meghan johnson
The Process: Litizenship Excellence
1 min readFeb 15, 2016

As a person with social anxiety it’s hard for me to wrap my brain around the word “community”. The thought of sharing works with people I have known for less than a month or two makes my palms clammy and my neck sweat. I usually need at least four to seven business days and paperwork signed in triplicate before I can even prepare myself to engage in conversation with a stranger.

When it comes to my writing classes though, it’s never been as hard. It’s like handing someone my work and saying, “Your hands are awkwardly sweaty too? Nice to know I’m not the only one.” There is an ease I find in circles like this; much like my art classes, we all seem to be bouncing around in the right sides of our brains. Living in some weird creative purgatory that seems just a bit cult-ish from the outside but a powerhouse for anyone in need of a creative spark.

So what I want when I leave this class is to be able to find that powerhouse even when I am not in a classroom setting. To be able to get a jump start on the old rusty car battery that houses my creativity. A support system that gets it from the foundation level. A way to bounce ideas around and scrap the terrible ones and bloom the great ones into magnificent things.

--

--