Ideas, Ideas, Ideas, Influences.

Henry Barnes
The Process: Litizenship Excellence
2 min readFeb 21, 2016

A Mr. John Stienbeck, who I will confess I do not really know even if the name sounds familiar, once said “Ideas are like rabbits. You get a couple and learn how to handle them, and pretty soon you have a dozen.” That could not be any more true with my mind and its idea-generating process.
My ideas…well…they come about at utter random for the most part. actual ideas themselves. I’ve had a fanfic idea spawn from a simple though about a catchphrase from a show. Scenes have been inspired by music. Fanfictions that have caused me to kinda want the characters to get some major help spawns silly ideas that I’ll never publish. Real life experiences, trips, and events lead me to think up scenes related to them. Interest in one fandom can cause me to wonder if it and another fandom could work well in a crossover of any sort. And sometimes an idea pops up that I immediately try to forget with all my might.
Henry David Thoreau has been quoted as saying, “How vain it is to sit down to write when you have not stood up to live.” That especially applies to me, as my inspirers and influences are the things around me. My life, in other words, is my inspiration. If I didn’t try to live, I’d have nothing to write about. Even though my ideas can run amok in my brain and multiply like rabbits, I’d much rather have them than not.
Now if I could just put this inspiration to use — that is, actually take all these bloody ideas and get them down on paper!!

--

--