How To Consistently Write 3500–4000 Words Per Hour

Monica Leonelle
The Productive Novelist
12 min readNov 13, 2014

--

It happens to every author, freelancer, or blogger at some point. We realize that our business model of creating valuable content is actually working — if only we had more content to give.

But how do we create that content efficiently?

I fell down the productivity rabbit hole back at the 2012, when I was only writing 900–1200 words per hour. I knew that my goal and dream of becoming a full-time fiction author was possible, if only I could build my back catalog quickly. But novels were too long, especially mine. One of my novels was nearly 250,000 words done properly. Another had taken me months and months to write. And I was burnt out. There simply weren’t enough hours in the day for writing.

So instead of giving up on my dream, I decided that I was simply going to learn to write faster. I studied suggestions from other people and made a list of nearly 30 different ways I could improve my writing pace. I ended up only needing four general principles, which I’m going to share with you today.

I applied the first principle and saw my word count jump to around 1600 words per hour. Not bad. I applied the next and I was suddenly in…

--

--

Monica Leonelle
The Productive Novelist

Writer, entrepreneur, artist. USA TODAY bestseller. I help people get their big stories, messages, and ideas out into the world at The World Needs Your Book.