How to Get into a Routine When Working Shifts

Nadia Davidson
The Productivity Bible
8 min readAug 10, 2019

--

Spoiler — you can’t.

Working shifts really messes with your productivity.

There is just no way around the fact that you will feel tired at weird times of the day and just want to sleep when everyone else is wide awake.

Luckily, I do not have to work a night shift as such (only until 10pm) and I am also very lucky to not work some of the horrendous hours that care workers seem to suffer from (12 hours+).

That being said, getting on with life and also finding time for artwork and writing somewhere along the line, can be difficult some days. Here are some tips which work for me.

I tend to work all different shifts within the same week. And whilst the variety is nice, it can mess up your body. Therefore, I have devised a productivity plan to meet the needs of the different shift times I usually work.

1. Early shift

When I get up at 5am to be at work for 6am there is very little I have time for in the morning before hand. I fall out of bed, have breakfast (a cereal bar and maybe a cup of tea) and dash off to work.

However, I have found that one of the best things to do whilst eating at that time in the morning is read an article or two on Medium. This was one of the first things I…

--

--

Nadia Davidson
The Productivity Bible

My name is Nadia Davidson. I am an artist who enjoys writing about the process of making art, bullet journaling and self improvement www.moltenimaginings.com