How Growing Up is Like Scaling Products

Tommi Forsström
The Produx Labs
Published in
2 min readFeb 28, 2019

--

Lately, I’ve had the privilege of working with a whole host of companies that range from late startups just on the cusp of demonstrable product-market fit, all the way to multi-product portfolios about to break into true enterprise status.

Every company has their own challenges and opportunities based on their target segment, their approach, their product strategy and their personnel. But the more companies I work with, patterns start emerging. Their situations are different, but still reflections of very similar stories.

While I’m doing this, I’m transitioning from my 30s to my 40s and in doing so, I find myself reflecting a lot on how human life stages are surprisingly similar to company growths stages.

Here’s my attempt to capture the human journey paired together with the evolution of a business.

Part 1: Teenage to 20s / Seed Stage to Startup.

Part 2: 30s / Early Growth Stage

Part 3: 40s / Late Growth Stage

Part ?: 50s / Enterprise Stage and Beyond

Unfortunately I am in no way qualified to comment on either side at this point in my life.

I am still leaving the heading here, hoping that around 2030 I will be ready to continue the series. Please reach out and remind me once 2029 rolls around.

Like What you Read?

  • Join my Email Gang on TinyLetter! One weekly email, no spam, no ads.
  • Please join the discussion in the comments below!
  • Read more about why I’m writing these posts:

--

--

Tommi Forsström
The Produx Labs

VP of Product at Teachable. Ex-Shutterstock, Splice & Produx Labs / Insight Partners. Lives in NYC, originally from Helsinki, Finland. http://forssto.com/blog