Because this prompt came AFTER this photo, I did purchase the jeans and the t-shirt I’m wearing (far right) AND the Burberry blazer the woman next to me is wearing. This is at Paula’s Couture Consignment, Batavia, IL.

‘You have enough cash for one want or several needs…’ prompt

Lori Botterman
The Prompt Project

--

Prompt:You have just entered a clothing store known for its wide inventory and quality of merchandise. You carry enough cash to purchase one want or several needs. You must select one category or the other, not both. Which do you select and why?

In my mind, this store is a high-end consignment shop, known for gently used designer and vintage wear.

I visit the store because I need something. Well, I like to fool myself that a want is really a need, especially when it comes to clothes. I need to wear clothes, right? But do I want to wear clothes? Uh, no.

I browse around for the very specific, yet elusive, white pencil skirt. A skirt that is not transparent, doesn’t gap in the waist, hugs my hips, and falls just above the knee. My wardrobe’s unicorn. It’s the piece I need to wear with my umpteen summer tops.

Sliding hangers left, I discover the store is fresh out of white pencil skirts in my size (because of course if a woman has one of those, she isn’t going to let it go unless it’s ripped or stained.) But wait… are those gold metallic jeans? Whoa, low-waisted, my size. Into the dressing room these go.

Oh hell, I’m in trouble. It’s a Burberry blazer, one tenth of retail price. I don’t need another black blazer, but I could use an upgrade. Into the dressing room this goes.

I’m going to grab a blouse or tee to go underneath while trying these things on. Look at that crisp silk tee. That would pair well with the pants or the jacket. You can really never have enough plain white tees.

Because I’ve been dressing myself for five decades, and buying my own clothes for four, I typically know what will fit and what will look good before I take it to the dressing room. So, I put on the jeans. My butt looks good. They’re comfortable. I’d wear these at least once a week. I’m getting these.

This silk tee shirt is perfection. I can wear it with the metallic jeans and lots of other stuff I have. I’m getting this.

This jacket. This feels like money. It makes my shoulders look amazing in “Dynasty” way. I feel like awesome boss lady wearing it. I’d never be able to afford this retail. Must. Have. It.

I need all three. I want all three.

But, my wallet says otherwise.

The tee shirt and jeans can wait. The hunt for the elusive unicorn skirt continues.

I decide on the blazer. It’s a colossal bargain. Sometimes a bargain is just what I need.

--

--

Lori Botterman
The Prompt Project

Marketer, writer, novice photographer, mother of adults, Zumba instructor, silver sister.