2020 iPad Pro and the Magic Keyboard

Apple’s good, bad and ugly

B. L. Teague
The Protean Journal
8 min readMay 25, 2020

--

Since the iPad first came out, I have looked for ways to incorporate its capabilities into my daily work and personal routines. Since I wanted to use it for work, the on-screen keyboard would not work well because I touch type. The keyboard also ate a significant portion of the screen real estate. Thus began a ten-year examination of blue tooth keyboards and folio covers to meet my stand and input needs.

Previous Experience

I bought my first iPad in 2010. Even then I had dreams of breaking out of the need to bring my laptop to meetings and move away from using paper at all. Back then, there weren’t as many good business apps, but I found some that met my needs, for the most part. I bought one of Apple’s keyboard / stands for it. However, being stuck in a vertical display didn’t work for me. I went through a lot of blue tooth keyboards, trying to find one that was better than the vertical keyboard stand I had. None of them stood out in a good way — all of them stood out in a bad way.

After Apple introduced the smart keyboard for the iPad, I considered buying one, but found that the apps were still too limited to justify the expense. So, I continued using a blue tooth keyboard that was reasonably priced, and worked “well enough.”

--

--

B. L. Teague
The Protean Journal

B. L. Teague he/him rediscovered writing while helping family with a medical issue. He writes sci-fi, fantasy, and articles. https://tap.bio/@B.L.Teague