Understanding and Hope

An baffling look at American Society

B. L. Teague
The Protean Journal
1 min readMay 17, 2020

--

I don’t understand, how it is,
that people don’t believe science,
choosing instead, to believe a reality TV host.

I don’t understand, how it is,
that people are so self centered,
they would sacrifice their own family for a hair cut.

I don’t understand, how it is,
that people can’t grasp simple logic.
without contagion numbers decreasing, it’s unsafe to open up.

I don’t understand, how it is,
that people can look at other countries success,
and think that the U.S. healthcare works.

I don’t understand, how it is,
that people have lost compassion,
concern, for their neighbor.

I don’t understand, how it is,
that people are struggling,
while our government watches, doing nothing.

I do understand, how it is,
that people want the isolation to end.
Stir crazy, and fearful simultaneously.

--

--

B. L. Teague
The Protean Journal

B. L. Teague he/him rediscovered writing while helping family with a medical issue. He writes sci-fi, fantasy, and articles. https://tap.bio/@B.L.Teague