A Security Breach

The Proxies — Chapter 32

Taru Anniina Liikanen
The Proxies

--

Photo by Anton on Unsplash

If you haven’t already, check out Chapter 1 to get started with the Proxies, or read Chapter 31 again to refresh your memory.

The positive effect of hanging out with Zoe and Chloe lasted all the way until the next morning, and I woke up refreshed. There had been no nightmares, no opening my eyes to find myself drenched in cold sweat in the middle of the night.

My morning coffee drink, the one that I had hated so much earlier, started to seem a little more passable, although every time I drank it made me think of Rosen.

Maybe I could end up liking it. Hell, I would have to if it kept showing up everywhere with my purchases. Maybe that was what the mad scientist had wanted. I snorted at the thought of Rosen trying to influence me into thinking about him by hacking into my groceries, heated up the coffee and threw myself on the living room couch.

“There are reports that Diego Virtanen, the revolutionary leader behind the rioting in the South, has made his way to Buenos Aires,” said the anchor, a twenty-something guy with the arrogance and smooth skin of someone who hadn’t experienced enough life to know his limitations yet. I wondered if he had been replaced by a bot and made useless. “Officials are gathering information on his movements, assuring the public there is no…

--

--

Taru Anniina Liikanen
The Proxies

Stand-up comedian and recovering political ghostwriter. Finnish by birth, porteña at heart. Bad jokes frequent.