No Turning Back

The Proxies — Chapter 46

Taru Anniina Liikanen
The Proxies

--

Photo by wen liu on Unsplash

If you haven’t already, check out Chapter 1 to get started with the Proxies, or read Chapter 45 again to refresh your memory.

I got up a little while later. Tom had still not spoken a word, he was probably as shocked as I was to see what I was capable of. I didn’t care.

And who was he? Who were his parents? Could I trust him?

I had to.

“I’m going to wash up.” He nodded, getting up himself and heading to Rosen’s desk, probably to snoop on his technology.

I got up and headed to the ladies’ room. Took my shirt off, placed it in one of the sinks and opened the cold water. Maybe I’d get some of it out. The glasses that had been placed on my chest were now smudged, but I tried to wipe them as well as I could. I’d check the transmission later.

The cool water splashed on my face, my hands and arms, washing out my crime. I even tried to get some on the parts of my hair that were drenched in blood. Was it a crime if it had sprayed out of the man who had wanted to kill me? The man who said he had made me. Maybe more of a father than my biological one had ever been.

The towel I dried myself with turned red, which gave me a split second of doubt. But who would care about that now? Would Pulse even have a future…

--

--

Taru Anniina Liikanen
The Proxies

Stand-up comedian and recovering political ghostwriter. Finnish by birth, porteña at heart. Bad jokes frequent.