Targeted

The Proxies — Chapter 39

Taru Anniina Liikanen
The Proxies

--

Photo by ev on Unsplash

If you haven’t already, check out Chapter 1 to get started with the Proxies, or read Chapter 38 again to refresh your memory.

The sirens woke me up from my beer-induced nap on the couch. A fire truck, somewhere close. Then a second one, and a third. There must have been a massive fire somewhere. I walked up to the window and saw smoke rising from a building in the direction of Palermo, a densely populated and affluent area. They’d probably put extra care into making sure the fire didn’t do a lot of damage.

I was waiting for Tom at my apartment. After careful deliberation, we had decided to go to Pulse, and he had gone back to the station to steal whatever equipment he could get his hands on. Maybe some sort of a weapon to help us defend ourselves. After my last experiences in the subway, I wasn’t planning on going anywhere without a good, old-fashioned gun anymore.

Our strategy was to get in using my connection with Rosen, and then try to find some kind of access to their servers so Tom could hack into them and find the answers we were looking for. Give Mike all the evidence so he’d be careful in his dealings with Rosen. After that, I had no idea. The plan was anything but solid, but I was fed up with not doing anything. The truth was so close now. If none of it worked out, I would make Rosen talk. And if it…

--

--

Taru Anniina Liikanen
The Proxies

Stand-up comedian and recovering political ghostwriter. Finnish by birth, porteña at heart. Bad jokes frequent.