Beyond Michael Pollan: Where to learn more about psychedelics.

A guide for the curious to the best books, writers, filmmakers and talkers about psychedelics

Marc Gunther
The Psychedelic Renaissance
4 min readSep 19, 2022

--

Michael Pollan is influential, but he’s not the only reporter exploring psychedelics

It’s hard to exaggerate the impact that Michael Pollan has had on psychedelics. His book and Netflix TV series, both called How to Change Your Mind, have reached millions of readers and viewers, bringing attention and legitimacy to research into psychedelic medicines. While scientists, philanthropists, entrepreneurs and activists are all driving what’s often called the psychedelic renaissance, Pollan looms large as its most important journalist. But he’s far from alone.

My own interest in psychedelics was sparked after I read and loved How to Change Your Mind. I went on to write a long story in 2019 for the Chronicle of Philanthropy about the importance of philanthropy in funding research into psychedelics. Since then, while reporting on psychedelics here at Medium and elsewhere, I’ve dug deeply into the rich literature of psychedelics in an effort to learn as much as I could. I’m still reading, listening and watching. Here are my go-to sources:

General coverage: I’ve become a contributor to Lucid News, which in my (biased) view is the best place to find feature stories, profiles and informed opinion about psychedelics. Reporters and…

--

--

Marc Gunther
The Psychedelic Renaissance

Reporting on psychedelics, tobacco, philanthropy, animal welfare, etc. Ex-Fortune. Words in The Guardian, NYTimes, WPost, Vox. Baseball fan. Runner.