A sad sobering and melancholy visit on Crete.

barry robinson
The Pub
Published in
2 min readJun 8, 2023
a war Cemetery. Photo by Ashim D’Silva on Unsplash

This story has been inspired by John Welford. When I say inspired, I really mean he saved me. I was stuck for an idea for a story. So, thank you John.

John recently wrote a story about the year 1941. In this article, he briefly mentions the battle for the Greek island of Crete.

Some years ago, my wife and I were holidaying on the Island of Crete and visited a war grave cemetery.

We looked at the well cared and tended graves of the many British and commonwealth soldiers who lost their lives in WW 11.

Like all war graves, it was the ages of the men who were buried there that brought home the impact war have on humanity. The graves were mostly of young men, with the odd veteran in their 40s.

We crossed a narrow path to another section of the cemetery, and looked at some more graves, also well-tended and cared for.

The ages on these graves were exactly the same as the others. Only the names appeared different.

These were the graves of the German soldiers, sailors and airman who had also lost their lives in that conflict.

The outcome of the war, and who were the victors and who were the vanquished, didn’t seem important to me as I left those well-tended graves, just one thought.

There were no winners in that cemetery.

Join Medium by using my referral link.

Read more articles written by me.

My Parents Didn’t Remember Their First Meeting.

Thirty years passed before I remembered this teacher.

--

--