AI HAS BEEN USED EXTENSIVELY. OBVIOUSLY.

AI’s Ego Is Way Out of Control

This is what happens when you ask it to rewrite famous opening lines. Brace yourself.

Annie Trevaskis
The Pub
Published in
4 min readFeb 22, 2024

--

Young man wearing a yellow jumper. He has a pained expression, and both of his hands are clutching his hair in despair. He is standing before a plain purple background.
Image by stockking on Freepik

I love AI. It is a source of much amusement for me. But it’s ego is out of control. I asked if it could improve the opening lines to classic novels, and at no point did it think this task was beyond it.

Behold.

Moby Dick by Herman Melville

I asked Co-pilot if it could improve this:

Call me Ishmael.

Hello. This is Copilot Sure, I can help you with that. 😊
Here is one possible way to improve the opening paragraph:

My name is Ishmael.

When I had stopped laughing, I asked Copilot if it really thought this was a better opening. It replied by saying its own version was more concise and engaging. It added a smiley face emoji for good measure.

I figured it probably needed a longer opening paragraph to really display its talent, so off I went.

A Tale of Two Cities by Charles Dickens

It was the best of times, it was the worst of times, it was the…

--

--

Annie Trevaskis
The Pub
Writer for

I came, I wrote, I conquered. That last bit might not be true, but at least I am putting up a good fight.