Do I look like a terrorist?

barry robinson
The Pub
Published in
2 min readMar 19, 2023
a man with a gun Photo by Sander Sammy on Unsplash

Have you ever heard someone ask this question?

Before the pandemic struck, my wife and I would fly to one of the Greek islands every year.

Of course, COVID-19 put a stop to this for two years, and we have yet to decide whether to resume our annual pilgrimage to the land that gave us Zorba’s dance.

I not only miss the Greek sunshine and food, but I also miss going through airport security.

I realise the security can sometimes seem a bit overdone, but it is something we have to live with in this day and age.

Now I am no stranger to airport security. Being the plank I am, I have twice gone through the electronic barriers, forgetting to remove either my watch or mobile phone.

This, of course, meant I had to be subjected to a personal search. No problems, just a pat down to ensure I was not carrying hidden Kalashnikov or rocket launcher, and the staff at Gatwick airport were always friendly.

Some people, however, seem to think it has been devised purely to inconvenience them.

It was during one of these searches that I heard a gentleman in front of me, also being frisked, loudly and indignantly ask all and sundry, “Do I look like a terrorist?”

Well, the answer to that was obviously, no you don’t. But neither did I look like one.

And that is exactly why people like him, and me, often get selected for searches.

Because if we all looked like what we are, security would be easier.

There would be a separate queue for everybody.

Accountants to queue A.

Builders to queue B.

Terrorists and suicide bombers to queue X.

So, to all those people who think security selects them for a laugh. It is not personal, get over it. Then we could all get on with our journey in safety.

Join Medium with my referral link

More from me

Is this the stupidest invention ever?

Are English Sea gulls’ misogynists?

--

--