Good riddance to the Sunday roast

barry robinson
The Pub
Published in
2 min readFeb 28, 2023
A joint of roast meat Photo by José Ignacio Pompé on Unsplash

I am aware this statement may bring howls of anguish to people of the United Kingdom, especially the English, because the tradition of the Sunday roast dinner is sacrosanct to some people, but not to me, and I am an Englishman.

The rising cost of living in the UK is pushing the price of food to levels where people are having to think about giving up certain items of food, and one of these items is the Sunday joint of meat, particularly beef, for years the staple of the traditional Sunday lunch.

Now I am not a vegetarian or a vegan. I enjoy eating meat along with the rest of my carnivore friends. But the Sunday lunch never featured much in my early years.

Without going into too much detail, from the age of twelve until I left home in my early twenties, I lived with my father. And my dad, God bless him, could not cook, unless you call cremation cooking.

The only meals I remember him cooking was steak. He fried this until it had the constituency of an old leather wallet. We ate that with bread, no veg, and usually standing up. I avoided steak for years until I learned that cooked properly it could be quite nice.

For some reason, my dad only cooked this steak treat during the week, never on Sundays. So, the tradition of the Sunday roast never took on with me.

When I married, I fell into the Sunday routine, but I never really took to it.

Gradually, I have weaned my better half off eating a roast dinner covered in gravy every Sunday.

Now we may have a salad, pasta or chops (no roast potatoes allowed.)

I do make the occasional concession, but I do not enjoy it.

So, good riddance to the Sunday roast.

--

--