I am amazed by Paulo Coelho…

Fatima Irfan Goraya
The Pub
Published in
2 min readAug 23, 2023

After reading the much loved book of the Brazilian author, Paulo Coelho, it was finally time to read more of his books to see if they too, like the Alchemist are a fine piece of art. After scrolling many bookshelves, I finally picked the Archer by Paulo Coelho in high spirits with extremely high expectations.

Safe to say, he did not disappoint me at all. I said it before and will say again that Paulo Coelho has the true potent of giving in depth lessons through fantasy based plots. I really have never seen such a writer before. The book’s content may be precise, but it certainly has much depth. It literally took me 30 mins to read the book twice!!

The writer uses the field of archery to explain life’s greatest lessons, which many self-help book writers are unable to show even in a thousand pages. The character, Tetsuya, explains the deep connection between life, your goals, your intentions and the journey to pursue your target. He emphasizes how actions executed from the soul with clear intentions give us ever-lasting peace even if we are to fail. He shows that a life brimmed with fear, resistance and intolerance constricts us and our ambitions. Tetsuya shows the little boy the art of using your energy only when it is needed, as well as the importance of having a good inner circle that is always ready to influence and inspire you.

This is truly one of the best literary fictions I have ever read. If you really are hesitant about reading self-help books, read Paulo Coelho first. His books are packed with deep messages with an excellent fantasy based story line. What a duo! I would give it a 9.9/ 10. An extra point for being concise!

Key Message: Self-help books and literary fiction are not as intimidating as many think….

--

--

Fatima Irfan Goraya
The Pub

I am at that point in my life where I myself can't understand whether I am an extrovert or an introvert.