I once met a member of the royal family but didn’t know it.

barry robinson
The Pub
Published in
3 min readMar 2, 2023
a royal crownPhoto by Markus Spiske on Unsplash

This took place on the east London council estate where I grew up.

On the day this historic meeting took place, my attention was attracted to two dark, expensive cars driving through our estate.

As cars were not encouraged to enter the estate, I decided to jump on my bike and follow them.

A black saloon car Photo by Arteum.ro on Unsplash

I didn’t have far to travel. The cars drew up outside a small brick building that was used as a club for some of the boys living on the estate. I arrived just in time to see the occupants of the cars enter the building.

Although I was not a member of the club, security was pretty lax, so I had no trouble walking through the open door into the small hall.

I have no memory of how it happened, but soon after entering the clubhouse, I found myself standing next to a very glamorous lady.

We were both standing at a table that held several clay models of various aircraft made by genuine members of the club. This lady picked up one of the models, turned to me, and asked what type of aircraft I thought it was.

As it looked nothing like any plane I had seen, I said I thought it was a Thunderbolt. I was rewarded with a lovely smile and she said, “I think you are right. I think it is a Thunderbolt.” She knew I had made the name up, but she wasn’t going to expose me as a fraud. What a classy lady.

After this brief exchange, the lady and I separated. She continued her tour of the club, and I was quietly removed from the club. I had been identified as an interloper.

Once outside the club, I asked a member of the crowd who this lady was.

I was told she was Lady Edwina Mountbatten. Countess Mountbatten of Burma.

Lady Edwina was married to Lord Louis Mountbatten. The uncle of Prince Philip.

The lady I had been speaking to was the aunt of The Duke of Edinburgh

Great aunt to our King, and great great aunt to Prince William, heir to the throne, and his miserable brother Prince Harry.

Over the years, I have learned a lot about Lady Edwina Mountbatten, written by people who knew her. Much of this does not show her in a flattering light. However, my memory of the short meeting I had with Lady Mountbatten is that of a very nice lady.

More from me.

I was a mate with a Beatle.. Well, that is pushing it a bit, but let… | by barry robinson | The Pub | Feb, 2023 | Medium

Have your street markets changed? | by barry robinson | The Pub | Feb, 2023 | Medium

Risky Games on a Famous London Landmark | by barry robinson | The Pub | Feb, 2023 | Medium

--

--