I was a mate with a Beatle.

barry robinson
The Pub
Published in
2 min readFeb 19, 2023
Photo by Michael Aleo on Unsplash

Well, that is pushing it a bit, but let me explain.

Some people here in the UK are taking offence at the way they addressed by shop and restaurant staff, or anyone working in the service industries.

A lot of men are objecting to being called mate.

I am a Londoner, and the term mate is one of friendship. One of the greetings we often use is “Alwrightmate” said quickly as one word. To be called a mate means you are a friend.

Hold that thought.

Many years ago, I was sent to pick up a catalogue from The Whitechapel Gallery in London’s east end. I did not need to enter the gallery itself but waited in the entrance hall.

This looked out onto the street, and I noticed an agitated driver of a car looking into the gallery. He was obviously waiting to collect someone, but was in danger of being booked, so he drove off.

While I was looking out onto the road, I was aware of some people coming out of the gallery behind me. I heard the sound of two men speaking. One was a voice I had never heard, but the other voice was very familiar.

I turned around to see three people. One was a bearded gentleman I did not recognise, but I did recognise the other two, John Lennon and Yoko Ono.

The bearded gentleman left after a few seconds. John looked out on the street and said, “Where’s our limo?” I explained what I had seen and told him the driver would probably return soon.

John said thanks, and then decided to open a cupboard attached to the wall. It contained a fire hose. He had an inquisitive mind.

Yoko said nothing, she just stood next to me smiling, and she was smiling at me.

The car re-appeared outside, and I said, “Your cars here John.” He turned around and headed for the door. Before he and Yoko left, he turned to me smiling and said “Thanks, tata mate.”

Remember, being called mate is a sign of friendship where I come from.

I said at the beginning I was pushing it a bit. But I am always going to think for a few seconds, I was John Lennon’s mate.

--

--