I Wish You Were Here to Share

These long mellow silences of the night

Obinna Uruakpa
The Pub

--

Photo by Ankhesenamun on Unsplash

These sleepless nights
have not been that bad
They have given birth
to thoughts that are wild
sometimes solemn
but all together fruitful

I wish you were here
to share
to read through
what they have produced
to ask me to change
some words
to insist I stop
reading out loud
when I wake up
with a husky voice
you call a horrible baritone
caused by all the coffee
and beer in the daytime

Photo by eberhard 🖐 grossgasteiger on Unsplash

But I am thankful
you are not here
Loneliness has its gains

I turn and wake up
reach out to find
that empty space
that jolts me awake

--

--

Obinna Uruakpa
The Pub

I am your Brother and a Seeker of the Infinite. I came this time among the Igbos. I share the sights, sounds, and scents of my journey in simple stories. .