Clap while you still want to. Do it now.

It’s Time to Pay Your Clap Debt

Sorry, I waited as long as I could. But enough is enough.

Smillew Rahcuef
The Pub
Published in
3 min readMay 17, 2024

--

woman paying her clap debt with a credit card. She’s good now. I won’t punish her for bad clapping behavior
Yes, I accept credit cards — Unsplash

I have something to tell you.

I experimented.

And I have to warn you.

The results are edifying.

It was a time-consuming exercise, but it was worth it because you’re fantastic readers who deserve to know. (Except for some of you) I’m not naming anyone here, but you know who you are.

Experimental protocol

Each time I clapped for an article, I registered the information in an Excel file. Below is an extract from Valentine’s Day (because I love you all except those I don’t).

I changed the name of the authors and the title of their articles for confidentiality reasons, but you get the idea.

And each time someone clapped for one of my articles, I registered the information in the same file. For confidentiality reasons, I replaced the title of my articles with its boost number.

This is an Excel table I made up. Same as the other one. It’s for humorous purpose.
Anonymized version of the claps I received. Sad to see single digit numbers here.

--

--

Smillew Rahcuef
The Pub

One day I will stop writing on Medium. Read my stories while you can.