My rambling thoughts on chickens and people

Some with heads, some without

barry robinson
The Pub

--

A chickens head. Photo by Олександр К on Unsplash

I have been perusing some old notes I made while writing for the now defunct Bubbles platform.

I came upon a rough draft of an article I put together in 2013, regarding a grant to be awarded to some egg heads who were going discover how humans and chickens have gotten along over the past few thousand years.

The money was to be awarded by the Arts and Humanities Research Council, to fund a study called “Cultural and Scientific Perceptions of Human-Chicken interactions.”

Apparently, there are over 20 billion chickens living on our planet, and yet we know little of their cultural and social history.

Now it may come as a surprise to some learned boffins, that the reason for this is, chickens are not great conversationalists.

They tend to keep their culture to themselves.

They are no great shakes at writing either. But the learned gentlemen were convinced the world needed to know about how to get along with chickens.

Now I am not prejudiced either way regarding chickens.

This is where I should say “some of my best friends are chickens”, but they are not. Not one of my friends remotely resembles a chicken, and I have checked…

--

--