Turning Medium Reads into High-Tech Seats

Why a Toilet Upgrade Will Boost My Writing Career

Confessions From a Toilet Writer

Ken Anders
The Pub
Published in
4 min readMar 2, 2024

--

Photo inspired on “Toilet Upgrade Impact on My Writing Career” created by author using DALL-E

Escape Artist

I have been an escape artist for as long as I can remember. At my best when hiding in a little room, only to reappear at the moment people start questioning where I am. This always surprises my audience. Yes, I even practice during family reunions.

The countless “Where were you?” questions have always remained unanswered. A true escape artist should never reveal his secrets, at least up until now.

Becoming a Medium writer has made me confident in sharing personal stories with this supportive community.

I think the time is right for me to confess.

I’m a toilet writer.

Inspiration

Don’t get me wrong. I haven’t installed a desk area in my bathroom (yet), but this is the place where my inspiration is flowing freely. An inspirational high.

The workflow is almost always the same:

Finding the secret place and remaining unnoticed.
Go in and lock the door (important to avoid surprises).
Thinking about something I want to write about.
A first idea pops into my mind

--

--

Ken Anders
The Pub

Father of two. Husband to a creative soul. Engineer by day, Japanophile by heart. Story junkie, writer in the making. 👨‍👩‍👦💍👩‍💻🇯🇵📚✍️