Why I Write: Overcoming Criticism and Embracing My Passion

Monica Lunot Kuker
The Pub
Published in
4 min read1 day ago

Today, I promised myself that I will write more, regardless of the outcome. Writing was my first love, even before I started painting.

After high school, I had no idea what I wanted to be. Lacking financial stability, my parents couldn’t support my college education, so I started writing novels.

Using an old, rusty typewriter, I cleaned it up and began writing day and night at the age of 16.

My nanay’s (mother) voice still echoes in my memory, expressing concern that I might drive myself crazy with my writing. “Stop it now and wash the dishes!” she would say, while stood up right away while scratching my head.

I would immediately obey my irritated mother. I couldn’t blame her — life was already challenging enough, and the constant clicking of that old typewriter night and day was more than she could bear.

Although we have a close relative who is a famous novelist, my mother had no idea that I had a passion for writing — not even a hint. The reason she was very surprised and concerned.

Writers, when conceptualizing, are often quiet and focused on their work. My mother wasn’t used to seeing her usually silly daughter so serious.

Unfortunately, after secretly submitting two short novels for publication, both were rejected. Dang! Of course, I was heartbroken. With tears in my eyes, I sadly gave up writing.

Yet, throughout the years, the longing to write persisted. Eventually, I discovered opportunities to write articles and poems for two platforms.

Monetization wasn’t my primary motivation; rather, I sought an outlet to express myself creatively and let my inner voice be heard.

In 2017, my husband introduced me to Medium. He knows I love reading articles and books as well, but I saw it as an opportunity for writers and wannabes like me , so I started writing several articles. I received claps and comments which is a pleasant surprised.

Then one day I received a series of critical comments about some minor mistakes in my grammar.

Since English is my second language, it is difficult for me to make my grammar perfect, and I don’t have an editor I can rely on.

My husband, a white American by birth, didn’t possess the editing skills or interest necessary to help me refine my writing.

At one point, I abruptly stopped my writing, questioning whether it was truly meant for me. Embarrassment washed over me as I realized that the articles I had thought were perfect were critiqued for their minor grammar — but not in a constructive manner.

Same thing when i started my YouTube channel. Some people criticized why i am doing this and that. I received mockery instead of support. And even dictating what should i do and what not.

Constructive criticism is helpful when delivered in a positive manner , as it helps us refine our work by considering other perspectives.

I always welcome such feedback. However, when it feels like someone’s intention is to belittle you in front of others, it ceases to be constructive and becomes detrimental instead.

Filipinos call it “crab mentality.”

Some Filipinos have this attitude of pulling down others when they try to pursue their chosen dreams or goals because they are afraid someone will be better than them.

That superiority complex and ego can turn into destructive criticism toward someone who’s trying hard to fulfill a simple dream.

But lately i realized i shouldn’t take it seriously. I made a promise to myself: I would continue writing as long as my readers could understand my message.

What mattered most was having a solid concept and the ability to promote social change, not absolute grammatical perfection. Or tone of voice and length of video blogs i should do.

Those who accuse me of seeking attention can whisper behind my back. They can remain in the shadows because that’s where they belong.

I love connecting with people through my blogs. This way, I can address important political issues that need clarity and justification.

My YouTube channel, Monatology (https://youtube.com/@monatology?si=Bk7sbOPw3\_Br7MQj), currently has over 10,700 subscribers and continue growing.

Creating consistent content within the same niche can be challenging, but I’m dedicated to producing engaging videos for my audience.

Just in case you had experience the same awful criticism, just ignore and continue your passion.

I just want to share this quote by Zig Ziglar

“Don’t be distracted by criticism. Remember, the only taste of success some people have is when they take a bite out of you.”

--

--

Monica Lunot Kuker
The Pub

Freelance artist. Traveler. Human rights activist. YouTube vlogger. Please subscribe.: https://www.youtube.com/user/Yukane64