August 1, 2017: Celebrating Jamaican Independence

Devonnie Black
The Lemonade Stand
Published in
1 min readAug 1, 2017

HAPPY JAMAICAN EMANCIPATION DAY! The land that I love will be celebrating 55 years of independence from the British Commonwealth on August 6th and today marks the precursor to that victorious day 55 years ago. I love everything about my culture, the food especially. Dancehall Music has a special place in my heart, the fact that I’m Jamaican could be lending to this bias. Playing Reggae and Dancehall music is the fastest way to get me from 0 to 100 and there are a few songs specifically that do that. In celebration I’ve created a short playlist of some of my favorite current artists and the songs that will definitely have you wining your waistline and backing up your bumpa in celebration!

Here’s to celebrating independence and bussin’ a wine at the same time!

--

--