Through Her Eyes: #Recipe of Bianca Jean

Kristen Puckhaber
The Lemonade Stand
Published in
6 min readMar 22, 2017

Meet Bianca Jean; one of the driving forces behind The Purple Lemonade. Bianca wears many hats at the Lemonade Stand and throughout the arts/dance community. Assuming there’s any moment in the day she’s not working towards a goal would be unheard of. You can usually find ‘Binx’ at one of her (many) places of employment, dance driving in traffic on the daily, at a rehearsal, or at an event supporting the community; you’d be lucky to catch her in her tracks. However, if that were to happen, you’d hopefully get to know a little bit more about Bianca Jean, and ‘see’ her life, through her eyes. In our latest Recipe Interview, we get to do just that.

photo by Tiffaine Eck / styling by Kristen Puckhaber / Hair by Matthew Lawrence / MU by Natalia Parker
  1. Who are you, and what do you do (with and outside of the PLC)? Describe a typical day for Bianca.

I am mostly involved in the dance portion of the PLC, however I like to contribute whenever I can! I add to the Pulp playlists regularly and have also written pieces for blog posts. In the dance inspired projects I help run rehearsals, choreograph and assist Ron on the ins and outs of the job. A typical day for me is: work — gym — dance! I love variety so I rarely ever have two days that look the same, but these three things are always involved somehow. I am involved in a lot of different projects (in and outside of dance) that demand different things, at different times. I thrive off of a busy schedule, multi-tasking and working under pressure. Some may say I have a problem; I have definitely heard the term ‘workaholic’ be used frequently to describe me.

2. How did dance/the arts get introduced to your life; we want to know the story of how you got to where you are. School, mentors, include everything!

Funny story actually, when I was three years old, my mom threw me in a ballet class at her gym so she could work out in peace. At the end of the year recital she said this overly shy child came to life on stage and knew she had to keep in dance classes. She still talks about how I was leading the other kids around the stage. I danced recreationally at the gym for many years practicing ballet, jazz and tap!

I fell in love with it, but felt like something was missing. When I got to high school I stopped dancing at the gym to audition for my school’s dance team. I always felt hip hop music and wanted to dance in a way that resonated with me. After making the team I got connected with some dancers that recommended good places to take classes with “good” hip hop. I caught wind of group auditions for a really talented group based out of Seattle that I had seen perform before and was absolutely in awe of. So I decided to audition for Potion — I did not know a single soul, I had never danced at this studio nor really trained in this style. For whatever reason, Cameron Lee put me on the team and took me under his wing because he saw something in me. Don’t worry, we have gone back and laughed at my audition tape after becoming really close friends ;)

Cameron pushed me in a way that I had never been pushed before. I was surrounded with well seasoned dancers that challenged me, caused me elevate, and catch on quick. This opened the door to the Seattle dance scene where I was able to be apart of many great shows and jobs. Also introduced me to the one and only Ron Gatsby.

When I think of mentors in the dance sense, Cam and Ron stand out the most. They are the ones that have personally invested and shown copious amounts of care towards my dance career and have left the biggest mark. I have trained with and been apart of many groups, all of which have meant a lot and all have inspired me to keep on the journey of dance.

3. What inspires you? What helps you create your art?

My inspiration is always driven by emotion. If I’m feeling happy, that shows in my song choice and my movement — it is more of a celebration and upbeat vibe. If I am hurting, that will also be very apparent. Maybe I got rejected by a cute boy so I make something sassy ;) I have a pretty specific set up while choreographing. The feel has to be right, I typically don’t like an overly open space. I always dim the lights and put the comfiest clothes on (usually something oversized). I also typically like to have something to snack on which is usually carrots, or something to drink. Pretty random!

photo by Tiffaine Eck / styling by Kristen Puckhaber / Hair by Matthew Lawrence / MU by Natalia Parker

4. Top two inspirations in your industry. Top two inspirations NOT in your industry.

I’m going to sound crazy, but Beyonce! Shocking right? But seriously, her performance quality and ability to be so sexy, yet hood is my main goal in life! Second dance industry inspiration would be Hollywood. His grooves and gigs just have something extra that really inspires me to master my personal style.

Non dance inspiration is definitely Olivier Rousteing. His designs and work for Balmain take my breath away! I can’t even explain the feeling, I get butterflies. Second goes to Wallace Wattles, the author of a trilogy that has changed my life and perspective really. The Science of Getting Rich, The Science of Being Great, and The Science of Being Well.

5. What is your dream project/job; in the next five years?

I would love to Direct/Produce projects on a grander scale, choreograph for a music video, large performance, or even help artists with movement and performance quality.

photo by Tiffaine Eck / styling by Kristen Puckhaber / Hair by Matthew Lawrence / MU by Natalia Parker

6. How do you think people can learn from art; how can they benefit from the arts if not an artist?

I think it takes an open mind even for artists to learn something from other artists at times. People can learn from art in any form, by appreciating it. Educating people on the process and how much really goes into arts is a start. We all benefit from art whether we know it or not, music (I don’t know one person that doesn’t listen to music), house décor, even what you wear every day. I’ve found even as an artist branching out and being open to experiencing different types of art has really strengthened my originality. It allows me to be more diverse, I love that.

Join Bianca this weekend, March 25th, for one of Seattle’s best Hip Hop showcases, “No Flex Zone.” No Flex Zone was created to be a platform where dancers and choreographers come together and showcase their talents. This show is meant to bring the hip hop dance community together and be all inclusive! No judgement, no flexin’, just all love and support!

--

--