Traveling with “just enough”

Zsa Mae
The Lemonade Stand
Published in
4 min readOct 9, 2017

I was hoping to have this article ready for you all about a week after my trip and share with you the many tips of traveling light. The more I reflected on this experience, I felt it was not only important to share with you what I packed but how this experience impacted me. Never have I dreamed that I would be traveling to Europe, let alone traveling with just a carry on.

My packing list included the following:
2 pairs of pants (1 denim, 1 drawstring pant)
1 pair of shorts
1 long skirt
2 dresses (1 short dress, 1 long dress)
4 short sleeve shirts
2 long sleeve shirts
2 tank tops
1 denim jacket
1 cardigan
3 pairs of shoes (walking sandals, espiradilles, classy flats)
Underwear (a couple pairs)
Toiletry bag
Makeup (very minimal — — 3 different lipsticks, eyeliner, mascara)

With my strategic packing (I roll my clothes vs folding them), I still had room. Crazy, huh?

I wanted to take on the challenge of traveling with one carry on because I wanted to see if this was doable. After listening to many minimalism podcasts, I took the plunge and challenged myself because I believe that when you physically make room in your life (or in my case, my carry on) you create more room to enjoy your experiences. Although I was very excited to travel light and not have to worry about carrying huge suitcases, I was surprised that the lessons that I learned from this challenge affected me in many other ways.

I spent one week in Italy (traveled to Rome, Venice, Florence and some of the smaller towns like Pisa, Assisi, and Verona) and one week in France (Paris). Right off the bat, here is what I noticed:

  • Walking/strolling is part of people’s lifestyle. With the ancient buildings and walkways, people need to travel by foot to go to places because cars will destroy the cobblestones. Their public transportation is super efficient which is very nice.
  • Fruit and vegetables are fresh and there is really no such thing as organic because everything is organic. Food is also very simple — — Italian food is fresh with no more than 7–8 ingredients (and this includes salt).
  • People find time in their day to enjoy a glass of wine, take a nap, or enjoy the public spaces. No need to rush anywhere…
  • People look presentable all the time. Simple clothing, simple makeup.

I had my anxieties at first about what to wear and how I would make it through this trip with just a carry on but the change started to grow on me. I found myself with minimal options and it was very easy to select an outfit. I also found myself being okay with not wearing as much makeup. I was starting off the day with a natural face and it remained like that for the rest of the day and the rest of my vacation. When it was time to head to the next town (we were traveling with a tour group), it literally took me 20 minutes to pack my things and I was not stressed. My mental health took a turn for the better.

It was amazing to observe the benefits just from this minimal change. Honestly, I feel like I could have left about 2–3 more articles of clothing at home and not notice it being gone. I felt that if I could incorporate this concept in my material belongings, I could also adopt this concept into other things such as the way that I eat, the way I take care of myself, my work projects, my work habits, etc. Italy taught me that you can enjoy your life without having to overindulge. It’s okay to indulge in wine, gelato, pasta and be content with what you have. Live a simple life where you find joy in having “enough”. France taught me that there is beauty in everything, you can still feel confident in being simple, and the open spaces in the city are made for you to enjoy.

I’ve been back for a little over a month now, but here is what changed on my end:

  • I have been wearing less make up and transitioning into natural make-up and natural skin care. Believe it or not, American make-up and skin care have many ingredients that are banned in Europe. Why not show your face/skin some love by treating it nicely?
  • My eating habits have changed and I have been enjoying the simpler taste of food because when I can taste what is in my food, I know exactly what I am consuming. I enjoy cooking and I enjoy knowing that I bought these ingredients and made a delicious meal out of it.
  • I knew I was pretty good at setting boundaries but I realized that you can still be productive without having to be busy. We fancy the idea of having the 24/7 work hustle because “if you’re not busy, you’re not working hard enough”. Wrong. You can be productive by focusing on projects that are important to you and you can enjoy your life at the same time. If you aren’t enjoying your life now, when will you ever enjoy it when you are constantly on the grind? Slow down and smell the roses.
  • I’m the happiest that I have been in a long time. I am enjoying my experiences for what they are and taking the time to invest in my body and spirit. I honestly believe that what you do for your body has a direct correlation to your mental health and well being.

There is so much value in traveling and I was very surprised that my souvenirs disguised themselves as lessons that have enhanced my well being. My challenge for you is to ask yourself how your life would be different if you lived with “just enough”. Just sit with this thought as I enjoy my cappuccino. Ciao! Au revoir!

--

--