5 Life Lessons I’ve Learned from Cats

Tammy J Rizzo
The Purple Platypus
2 min readFeb 14, 2018
“A cat sitting on a windowsill next to a vase with colorful flowers and looking up” by Josh Couch on Unsplash

Hi. I’m Tammy. I have cats.

Don’t worry, it’s not contagious.

Besides, I only have three cats this time. I’ve had three before, too. I once had four cats, but that’s my limit. Unless a fifth cat had come up to me and chosen me, but that didn’t happen.

Anyway, I’ve learned five things about life from watching my cats. These five lessons have helped shape me as I’ve matured.

Nap often.

Cats nap as often as they can get away with it, sleeping nearly eighteen hours in a day, here and there, a few minutes at a time. As a result, they’re always ready to sprint for a minute whenever they need to. You, too, can benefit from napping whenever you can get away with it. Your blood pressure will respond favorably as your body relaxes into the nap. Consider it a five-minute vacation, even if you’re just at home doing the laundry. Lay back for a few minutes, and relax. Your body will thank you.

Play with abandon.

When cats aren’t sleeping, they’re often playing, using up their energies with joyous disregard for life and limb. Whether tottering on the edge of a fence or balancing over the rim of the toilet bowl, cats live life with enthusiasm! So should you! Find your favorite toy and play with it for a while. Then go find your other favorite toy and play with that one. Don’t limit yourself to only two favorite toys, either! Keep playing; they’re ALL your favorite!

Eat with relish.

Whatever food your cat most appreciates, watch how she eats it. Most cats will push their face right into the food dish! Be the nom nom kitty who can’t help but exclaim over his food! Treat each bite as a delicacy, savor every flavor, indulge yourself with every morsel in every meal. Food should be enjoyed, not just eaten. And be sure to clean up every crumb on your face afterward, too.

Finally, learn to count.

That’s five, right? Well, it’s more than three, and that’s just exactly how many cats I have. So that’s just exactly the right number here, too!

--

--

Tammy J Rizzo
The Purple Platypus

Part-time Cyborg and oversized hobbit. Writer, reader, fiber spinner.