Grand Junction Perfect Fit For Keegan James

Grand Junction Rockies
The Purple Slope
Published in
4 min readJul 16, 2019
(Photo by Todd Bennett)

There are three things that run in Grand Junction Rockies’ pitcher Keegan James’ family: sports, Mississippi State, and the state of Colorado. Although James grew up playing baseball, his dad and uncle made their way to college playing a different sport.

“My dad and uncle both played football at Mississippi State and then my uncle got drafted by the Detroit Lions. I think he punted for two years but other than that, it’s just me and my cousin.”

James’ cousin is Atlanta Braves player Austin Riley. The two grew up playing baseball together in Mississippi.

“We were born 15 hours apart and I’m older by 15 hours. I’m as close to him as I am my actual brother,” James said. “His dad, my uncle Mike, coached us from the time we were probably eight up until high school. He also started a summer ball team with one of our other buddy’s dads, Gary Blaylock, and we traveled all over the country playing baseball.”

James played multiple positions growing up including first base and second base. As a senior in high school, his team made it to the state championship, was named to the First-Team All-State, Perfect Game All-America honors, and was the Most Valuable Player of the Mississippi High School Activities Association All-Star Game. He attracted attention from multiple schools but ultimately decided on Mississippi State, the school where his grandparents, aunt, uncle, and dad all graduated from.

“Having that family connection was a big part of choosing State but I think the other thing is the atmosphere,” James said. “I mean it’s up there with one of the best environments in any sport. I know they broke the record multiple times of having 15,000-plus people at their games so that kind of drew you in.”

Going to Mississippi State also meant a few changes like wishing Riley well as he started his career in the Braves farm system.

“He committed to State with me within the same week that I did and he was supposed to be my college roommate,” James said. “Then he got drafted in the first supplemental round. He decided to leave to go to pro ball.”

James also decided to specialize in pitching whenever he got to Mississippi State.

“I made the transition to pitching as soon as I got there in 2016. My bat was good enough to play at other school. It wasn’t good enough to play at an SEC school and you’re obviously not going to turn down the chance to play at Mississippi State.”

James said he loved playing for Mississippi State and the new stadium, Dudy Noble Field, just enhanced the experience.

“We got a $70 million upgrade to our stadium. It’s pretty sick,” James said. It’s better than most minor league parks I’ve seen at any level.”

Several major league teams starting reaching out to James including the Tigers and the Brewers but James said he was excited when the Rockies reached out.

“I’ve been coming out to Colorado my whole life,” James said. “My grandfather owns a cabin in Pagosa Springs, Colorado, which is about four hours from here. Every winter I’d come here with my family and snowboard. To be drafted by a team out west was awesome. I love it because I’d rather be in the mountains than the beach.”

Whenever he had questions about the Rockies or Grand Junction, James said he reached out to another Mississippi State player and former GJ Rockies player.

“As soon as the Rockies started talking to me about being a potential pick for them and things like that, I started texting Hunter Stovall,” James said. “Any time I have had a question about this place, I just go to him. He even got me set up with his same host family and they have been awesome. It’s been an easy adjustment.”

Despite James saying he has big shoes to fill when being compared to his cousin, he doesn’t feel any added pressure and that he’s just enjoying his time in Grand Junction and working to improve his game.

“It’s more of a job here but I love it. My favorite thing is walking out on the field and seeing the mesa in the background because I’m not used to seeing that. Most people don’t even make it to this point so I’m just trying to make the most of it.”

(Photo by Todd Bennett)

--

--