Todd Isaacs: Baseball With A Bahamian Flair

Grand Junction Rockies
The Purple Slope
Published in
4 min readAug 20, 2019
(Photo by Jarah Wright)

When you think of countries that baseball players come from, The Bahamas might not immediately come to mind. However, that’s something that Grand Junction outfielder Todd Isaacs hopes to help change.

Isaacs is from New Providence and was introduced to baseball at an early age.

“I started playing baseball when I was three years old at a Freedom Form Baseball League in Nassau, Bahamas,” Isaacs said. “My dad had a really good friend that coached a team up there. He asked to bring me out just to try it out and I fell in love right away.”

He grew up playing the game which lead him to American Heritage High School in Florida. It wasn’t an easy decision to leave The Bahamas but it allowed Isaacs to continue following his dream.

“The high school I went to, there were already a few Bahamians who went there. Their parents talked to my parents and we discussed it and it seemed like a good idea,” Isaacs said. “My parents were sold on the idea of me being able to go to school, further my education, and continue playing baseball.”

Isaacs started attracting attention from scouts for one skill in particular.

“My biggest tool when I was in high school was my speed. My speed is actually what got me drafted. My fastest time was a 6.1 sixty. I can’t believe those numbers when I see them.”

Isaacs was drafted by the Toronto Blue Jays in the 22nd Round of the 2014 MLB Draft. However, he decided to go to Palm Beach State College instead. When the 2015 draft rolled around, he was drafted by the Cleveland Indians in the 19th Round and Isaacs decided to sign. He was in the Indians’ farm system for four seasons before being released. The Rockies signed him as a free agent heading into 2019 which led to Isaacs being sent to Grand Junction.

Isaacs said being released was a wake-up call and gave him the motivation to work even harder for his dream.

“This season has been a whirlwind. I got released by the Indians and it was a reality check for me. It gave me a moment to look at my life from the outside. Being released actually gave me a perspective of realizing that one day this will end regardless of how I play,” Isaacs said. “Then the Rockies signed me and my career goes on. It made me appreciate the small things. It made me appreciate the process and everything it’s taken to get me to this point and it kind of reignited a fuel in my body and my soul to want to keep pushing forward. I just have to be consistent, show my value and try to help my team win every day.”

Isaacs said he knows his story is not unique and he wants to encourage others as they work through pro baseball, especially Bahamian baseball players.

“I had a cousin who played for the New York Yankees. His name is Antoan Richardson. He was the last Bahamian to play in the Major Leagues,” Isaacs said. “We had two Bahamian baseball players in all of professional baseball in 2012. Now, I think there’s about 24 of us. I’m one of the older ones so I try to help a lot of them out and try to school them on what to expect and how to go about their business. It’s a growing sport and I’m proud to be part of it.”

One ways Isaacs has been able to bring more attention to baseball in The Bahamas is an annual home run derby that he puts on with his best friend Lucius Fox who plays in the Tampa Bay Rays system.

“We host a home run derby every January. Players hit baseballs into the water from the beach,” Isaacs said. “The reason why we wanted to do it is we knew that it would attract the masses because of how untraditional it is. It allows us to showcase Bahamian baseball players and their talents. We also have top baseball players in all of the Minor League Baseball come participate.”

Current Toronto Blue Jays infielder Bo Bichette has taken the Don’t Blink Home Run Derby crown the last two years. Isaacs hopes this event will show the world that while The Bahamas might not have been on the baseball map that much over the years, the talent is there.

“We wanted to do this to help promote baseball in The Bahamas. It brings eyes from all over the world here. Because there are so many of us in professional baseball now, the exposure means a lot more eyes are looking into The Bahamas now. The persons in power are starting to see that this is an option.”

It’s that passion for learning about and sharing baseball that Isaacs said will keep him in the game for many years to come.

“I hope that a long time from now when my career is over, I definitely want to stay in baseball. I just love this game. I love learning. I love being a student of the game and just being around the sport. I just want to pay it forward.”

(Photo by Jarah Wright)

--

--