An Unexpected Day of Entrepreneurship. Shocker.

Amber Rose Monaco
The Pursuit of Starting Up
3 min readDec 1, 2015

--

Today did not go as planned. But, if I’m being honest with myself, I was kind of expecting days like this. I’m an entrepreneur, right?

I got up this morning with one thing on my mind: my 10am massage. Yes, a beautifully relaxing Thai massage to start my Tuesday. Perfect.

And, to top it all of, it only cost $7. Seriously.

After my massage, I made my way back to my office and stopped to get some fried rice. While eating, I worked on a crossword. I love the crossword. It’s so relaxing, and it really gets my mind working.

Then, around 12:30pm, it was time to get to down to business. I only had a few things on my to-do list today:

  1. Write my Medium post,
  2. Work on 2016 content plan,
  3. Figure out Bluehost affilate stuff, and
  4. Practice editing a podcast.

Seems simple, right? Only 4 items on my list seems like something I could knock out in just a few hours.

Wrong. So, so wrong.

I started first with learning how to edit a podcast. (More on launch date later!) I already had the recording and I knew where to find the royality-free music I wanted to use. That’s where it went down the drain.

I started by attempting to open Adobe Audition. But, Adobe wasn’t cooperating. It wasn’t cooperating so much that I had to uninstall everything, restart, re-install Creative Cloud, restart, and then download Audition.

What a mess.

This took some time, but it all worked. I was back on track. So, I started watching a YouTube video about how to edit a podcast. (Seems logical, right?) I added the call of the actual podcast to one of the tracks and then went to add the music into a separate track.

I found the music I wanted online and downloaded it. But, it wasn’t downloading as an MP3 file. It was downloading as a text file.

TEXT. What?!!?

Well, that clearly isn’t going to work.

I’m a solutions-girl, so I went on a hunt for more license-free music that downloaded properly. After spending nearly 40 minutes listening to 6-second clips of random songs, I finally had to have a reality check with myself.

You can’t spend all day doing this. Pick one of the next 3 songs and MOVE ON.

So I did. Is it perfect? Who knows?! Is any podcast intro/outro music perfect? I was peppy, and I liked it. Plus, it downloaded properly, so I was sold.

Ok, so now I’m back in the editing process again. I have Audition working, and I have my music. I continued watching this video. It teaches me some good tricks, and I start to feel good about my editing technique. But, I knew I had to learn more. I wanted to learn how to cut out dead space and all of the “Uhs.”

I went to take a quick break to get more water when I realize that it’s almost 6pm. 6pm!?! Seriously? I’ve been doing NOTHING for 5+hours. What about the rest of my to-do list?

But, now that I think about it, I am getting hungry. And dehydrated. And, honestly, I have kind of lost focus and motivation for the day. I needed a break.

Let’s be honest though, it’s after 6pm. I’m not going to take a “break.” I’m going to shut it down for the day.

I know I said I expected days where things would go unexpectedly, but geez. This was a little crazy. I mean, it took me 4 hours to practice editing a podcast. And, I haven’t even finished the whole call. And, I don’t even have all of the skills down yet.

<sigh>

The good news is that tomorrow is coming. I can tackle my to-do list more feverishly tomorrow.

I’d love it you followed this publication, by clicking the “follow” button. And, it would mean the world to me if you would recommend this publication. All you have to do is click the little heart icon.

--

--

Amber Rose Monaco
The Pursuit of Starting Up

Community Manager at Bridge Space; Aspiring Homesteader | writer and scuba diver