What day is it? Day 2

Being vulnerable is hard. And it kind of sucks.

Amber Rose Monaco
The Pursuit of Starting Up

--

I accomplished a big task today, one that I have been putting off for 3 days.

I emailed 10 people and asked if they would be a guest on my upcoming podcast.

This is tricky though, but I don’t actually have the podcast yet, and I need these people to put their faith in me.

The other sticky thing is that I have only met one of these people in real life, but that was 2 years ago. I’ve chatted with 3 of them online, but the other 6 will see me as total strangers.

I know what you are thinking, Why didn’t you just ask people you know first, and then ask these “strangers” later when you have more social proof? Well, I did think about this, but I also wanted to start my podcast off with a bang, which means that I want to be really excited about talking to people I’ve never spoken to before. I also wanted to diversify my interviewees, and honestly, most of the people I know fall into the same general category: blogger/entrepreneur. Of course I’ll have these people on at some point, but I wanted to stretch myself from the beginning.

If not now, when? Right!?!

That was my big accomplishment for the day. I feel a mix of emotions too:

  1. I’m happy I did it. It’s done.
  2. I feel vunerable. The fear of rejection (or plain being ignored) is at the forefront of my mind.
  3. I feel scared.

Oh god. What if someone says yes? then I have to be a “real podcaster.”

Oh god. What if no one responds? I’m going be the worst podcaster ever.

What if I fail? Then, I’ll never make it as an entrepreneur. I’ll spend all of my money. I’ll have leave Asia. My only options will be to move in with my grandparents and hear about ailments and my lack of a man in my life, or to live with my sister and deal with children all day.

See, it’s a quick trip down worst-case-scenario-road.

  1. I’m excited that I got out of my comfort zone and asked for what I wanted.
  2. I feel like I put in a solid day’s worth of work.

I know it may not seem like much, but when you have been been avoiding that one thing on your to-do list for 3 days, it feels like such a relief to cross it off.

I have a few more things I want to do before I close up shop for the night, so I better get to it. My list still has 4 more items I need to check off before I leave.

Back to it!

I’d love it you followed this publication, by clicking the “follow” button. And, it would mean the world to me if you would recommend this publication. All you have to do is click the little heart icon.

--

--

Amber Rose Monaco
The Pursuit of Starting Up

Community Manager at Bridge Space; Aspiring Homesteader | writer and scuba diver