Dialoguing Says It All

Amber Rose Monaco
The Pursuit of Starting Up
2 min readDec 7, 2015

--

Over lunch with a new friend from my coworking space, we started talking about the normal things nomads talk about:

How long have you been here?

Where are you going next?

How long have you been traveling?

Do you think you’ll stop traveling anytime soon?

Once this obligatory conversation was out of the way, she asked me, “So, what are you working on.” I mostly shrugged off the (very simple) question and avoided eye-contact. I wanted to say, “Mostly I just play on Facebook or watch YouTube.” Instead, I said, “Oh, I’m not exaclty sure. I have a long to-do list, but I don’t feel very focused.”

Her response back was, “Well, what you want to be working on?”

Without skipping a beat, I said, “I’d really like to start developing a ‘signature course’ for my brand.”

She immediately got out paper and pen, and said, “Well, let’s dialogue.”

The conversation was amazing. She asked me questions that I knew the answers to, and she frivolously took notes. We had a regular conversation: no pressure; no strings attached. She was just trying to help me think things through a little more. We talked about my audience, my sales page, what my audience struggles with, and how I would help my audience solve their problem. It was all bottled up inside my head, but saying it aloud really validated my thoughts. Plus, she understood what I was saying. That’s always a good sign.

This 20-minute conversation was the catalyst for the rest of my day. I was so motivated by our chat that I came back to my desk and started working away. I was so productive too.

I got more done after lunch today than I did all last week.

I think this is a real sign that I do need an accountability partner or someone to check in with a few days a week.

I’ll add that to my never-ending to-do list.

I’d love it you followed this publication, by clicking the “follow” button. And, it would mean the world to me if you would recommend this publication. All you have to do is click the little heart icon.

--

--

Amber Rose Monaco
The Pursuit of Starting Up

Community Manager at Bridge Space; Aspiring Homesteader | writer and scuba diver